Photo Flash: Tony Nominee Santino Fontana Visits Broadway Artists Alliance

Santino Fontana, 2013 Tony Award nominee for Best Leading Actor in a Musical (Cinderella), visited students of Broadway Artists Alliance Junior Summer Intensive on July 9th. Fontana spoke of his start in school plays all the way to his Broadway career. Fontana relayed some words of wisdom during a Q&A, answering questions ranging from memorizing all those lines to the process of making Frozen.

Fontana's previous Broadway credits include Roundabout Theatre Company's 2007 production of Sunday in the Park with George, originating the role of Tony in Billy Elliot as well as originating the role of Prince Topher in Roger and Hammerstein's Cinderella. Most recently Fontana was seen in the Lincoln Center Theater's award winning production of Act One. Fontana's film credits include Disney's 2013 hit musical film Frozen, voicing Prince Hans, and the upcoming Tina Fey and Amy Poehler comedy, The Nest. He also appears on Submissions Only.

Broadway Artists Alliance, founded with the goal of providing professional-level training to talented young artists, enlists the services of Broadway performers, Tony Award winners, and top industry professionals. Students enjoy a wide range of experiences in vocal training, scene study, and various types of dance among the many offerings. BAA offers four Summer Intensive Sessions and one Junior Session with ages ranging from 8 to 21.

The Broadway Artists Alliance one-day master class series will continue with a NY Agent Master Class (July 20th), a LES MISERABLES-themed Master Class (July 20th), and a Casting Director Maser Class (July 27th).

Broadway Artists Alliance roster of master class instructors and guest speakers includes Laura Benanti, Susan Blackwell, Stephanie J. Block, Sierra Boggess, Christian Borle, Jason Robert Brown, Andrea Burns, Norbert Leo Butz, Carolee Carmello, Matt Cavenaugh, Michael Cerveris, Adam Chanler-Berat, Jenn Colella, Gabriel Ebert, Eden Espinosa, Michelle Federer, Katie Finneran, Sutton Foster, John Gallagher Jr., Alexander Gemignani, Jonathan Groff, Douglas Hodge, Bill Irwin, Christopher Jackson, Nikki M. James, Gregory Jbara, Adam Kantor, Judy Kaye, Andrew Keenan-Bolger, Celia Keenan-Bolger, Beth Leavel, Norm Lewis, Andrea Martin, Lindsay Mendez, Bebe Neuwirth, Karen Olivo, Laura Osnes, Alice Ripley, Lea Salonga, Stephen Schwartz, Duncan Sheik, Will Swenson, Marc Shaiman, Aaron Tveit, Noah Weisberg, Lillias White, Scott Wittman, John Lloyd Young, and many more.

For more information or to register, please visit or

Photos by Laura McBride

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...