Click Here for More Articles on LAURA BENANTI

Photo Flash: Laura Benanti, Joshua Henry, et al. at the 2011 Dramatists Guild Awards

On Monday night, the Dramatists Guild of America hosted its annual Awards Night at The Players Club in New York City. The ceremony was hosted by David Henry Hwang and recognized the works of Bruce Norris (Clybourne Park), John Kander, Fred Ebb and David Thompson (The Scottsboro Boys), Robert Lopez, Trey Parker and Matt Stone (The Book of Mormon), Christopher Durang and Lifetime Achievement Award Winner Paula Vogel.

Check out photos from the event below!

John Kander and David Thompson accepted their award on behalf of the late Fred Ebb. Kander said it was "hard to speak for Fred, who is not here. But he is here," and went on to thank the room for "giving [him] the most fulfilling, most exciting experience [he's] ever had in the theater."

The night took a comedic turn when Laura Benanti accepted Christopher Durang's award on his behalf and presented a light-hearted speech written by Durang. Kirsten Childs presented the Frederick Loewe Award to Robert Lopez, explaining that his is "not the theater of cruelty, or the theater of the absurd. It is the theater of ‘Oh no, you did not say that!"

Marsha Norman presented the Lifetime Achievement Award to Paula Vogel, who received a standing ovation from the audience, which included Susan Stroman, Sheldon Harnick, Tina Howe, and Peter Parnell. Vogel pointed out that when she began her career in 1974, 16% of plays were written by women and now in 2011, that number has increased to 17%. "Yay 1%!" she exclaimed.

The evening was sprinkled with heartfelt and comedic performances alike from Joshua Henry (The Scottsboro Boys) and Robert Lopez (The Book of Mormon) and ended with a performance by Andrew Lippa of "Live Out Loud" from A Little Princess.

Photo Credit: Douglas Gorenstein

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...