Photo Coverage: Theatre Museum Awards

A number of theatre stars performed at The Theatre Museum's 2006 Awards for Excellence, which were presented at the Millennium Broadway Hotel's Hudson Theatre (145 W. 44th St.) on October 16th.

The stars who performed included Tina Maddigan and Kevin Kern (The Wedding Singer), Jay Johnson (Jay Johnson: The Two and Only), and Isabel Rose (The J.A.P. Chronicles).

Fred Papert, president and founder of 42nd Street Development Corporation, was presented with the Theatre History Preservation Award by Senator Elizabeth Krueger, while the Drama League Directors Project were honored for "nuturing emerging theatrical directors."  Tony Award-winner John Rando presented the award to them.  Dr. Lundeana Thomas were also honored with an award for excellence in Theatre Arts Education, and the Manhattan Theatre Club received an award for restoring the Biltmore Theatre.  Torya (The Lion King) and Johnson respectively presented those awards. 

The Theatre Museum aims "to preserve, protect and perpetuate the legacy of theatre through innovative programming including exhibitions and presentations, collaborations, theatre arts education and the annual Theatre Museum Awards for Excellence ceremony," according to notes.

Photos by Rob Rich/

Bobbi Horowitz and Robert R. Blume

Les Schecter and Katherine Page

Jim Dale and Stewart F. Lane

Barry Grove

Steve Ernst and Jamie DeRoy

Rocco Landesman, Helen Guditis, Jeff Davis and Debbie Landesman

Stewart F. Lane, Bonnie Comley and Rocco Landesman

Bonnie Comley, Jay Johnson, Sandi Johnson and Stewart F. Lane

James J. Heinze, Helen Guditis, Stewart F. Lane, Bonnie Comley and performers

Barry Grove, Ludeana M. Thomas, Fred Papert and Roger Danforth

Bonnie Comley and Tina Maddigan

Kevin Kern, Tina Maddigan and Matthew Sklar

Bonnie Comley and Jamie DeRoy

Bonnie Comley and Jim Dale

Bonnie Comley and Joe Franklin

"42nd Street" performance

Jim Dale

Jim Dale and the Honorable Liz Krueger

Fred Papert (Theatre History Preservation Award recipient)

Jim Dale


Ludeana M. Thomas, Ph.D, recipient of the Theatre Arts Eduction Award

Performance from Her Song

Jim Dale

Jim Dale

Stewart F. Lane (Chairman of the Board of Trustees) and Helen Guditis (President)

Stewart F. Lane

Jay Johnson

Jay Johnson

Barry Grove (acceptor of the Theatre History Preservation Award to an Organization--Manhattan Theatre Club)

Isabel Rose (performance from Hair)

John Rando

Roger Danforth (acceptor of the Theatre Arts Education Award to an Organization--Drama League Directors Project)

Tina Maddigan and Kevin Kern (performance from The Wedding Singer)

Tina Maddigan and Kevin Kern

Tina Maddigan and Kevin Kern

Tina Maddigan and Kevin Kern

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...