News on your favorite shows, specials & more!

Photo Coverage: LAByrinth Theater Company Celebrity Charades

By: Sep. 27, 2005
Get Access To Every Broadway Story

Unlock access to every one of the hundreds of articles published daily on BroadwayWorld by logging in with one click.

Existing user? Just click login.

On Monday, September 26th, LAByrinth Theater Company's Board of Directors and Co-Artistic Directors Philip Seymour Hoffman and John Ortiz presented the Third Annual LAByrinth Theater Company Benefit featuring Celebrity Charades. Cheerleaders and a live marching band kicked off a live auction followed by celebs heading out onto the basketball court for Celebrity Charades.

The winning team was Bebe Neuwirth's team (Bebe Neuwirth, Bob Balaban, Anthony Mackie & Rosie Perez) beating out the two-time defending champions Philip Seymour Hoffman, Justin Theroux, Yul Vazquez, John Ortiz and George C. Wolfe.

LAByrinth was founded in 1992 when thirteen actors joined forces to form a place to work. The idea was to create a home where the group, for three hours each week, could engage in a variety of theatrical exercises designed to push each others' limits and bind together into a tightly knit, uninhibited and impassioned ensemble - one in which each member is given the opportunity and support not only to act, but to write, direct, produce, sweep, paint, hang lights, etcetera. The fact that the company now consists of 92 members from a wide array of cultural perspectives did not occur through some political design. It grew out of a shared artistic sensibility and a desire to create personal work that reflects the community in which the company lives: New York City. LAByrinth Theater has produced 38 new American plays including The Last Days of Judas Iscariot, Our Lady of 121st Street, Jesus Hopped The 'A' Train, and In Arabia, We'd All Be Kings by Stephen Adly Guirgis; Guinea Pig Solo by Brett C. Leonard; Dutch Heart of Man by Robert Glaudini; The Trail of Her Inner Thigh by Erin Cressida Wilson; Stopless by David Deblinger; Dreaming in Tongues by the LAByrinth Ensemble; Cutting Open Wings by Lidia Ramirez; Queen Latina and Her Power Posse Versus The Evils of Society (a musical comic book for the stage) by David Anzuelo; and Sailor's Song, Where's My Money, A Winter Party, and Dirty Story by John Patrick Shanley.


Bill Sage and Edie Falco

Edie Falco

Marc Shaiman

George C. Wolfe

Marishka Hargitay

Brad Garrett

Bebe Neuwirth

Al Franken

Cynthia Rowley

Rosie Perez

Eric Bogosian

Kyra Sedgwick

Paula Devicq and John Patrick Shanley

Vanessa Carlton

Yul Vasquez, John Ortiz, Justin Theroux, Philip Seymour Hoffman, and George C. Wolfe

Bob Balaban

Anthony Mackie