Oskar Eustis, Lynn Nottage & More to Present at 2014 Otto Awards, 5/18

Oskar Eustis, Lynn Nottage & More to Present at 2014 Otto Awards, 5/18

The sixteenth annual Otto René Castillo Awards for Political Theatre (executive producer, Diane Stiles) will be held on Sunday, May 18, 2014 at 2:00 p.m. at the Castillo Theatre (artistic director, Dan Friedman).

Oskar Eustis, artistic director of the Public Theatre, Pulitzer Prize winning playwright, Lynn Nottage, and others take the stage to present Otto Awards at the 16th annual awards celebration. Honorees are:

Ping Chong + Company, founded in 1975 with the mission to create works of theater and art that explore the intersections of race, culture, history, art, media and technology in the modern world;

CollaborationTown, a company that creates original work in NYC that is relevant beyond traditional theater audiences and speaks to many of the most pressing contemporary social and political themes;

David Edgar, leading British playwright and the past president of the Writers Guild of Great Britain, known for his adaptation The Life and Adventures of Nicholas Nickleby;

Katori Hall, a playwright/performer whose writings combine often harsh and vivid realities with imaginative explorations of possibilities, her award-winning play, The Mountaintop, has received productions all over the world;

E. Patrick Johnson, a scholar/artist who has performed nationally and internationally and has published widely in the area of race, gender, sexuality and performance;

Past Otto Award honorees include: Laurie Anderson, Joseph Chaikin, Kathleen Chalfant, LAByrinth Theater Company, the San Francisco Mime Troupe, Ntozake Shange, SITI Company, the Steppenwolf Theater, Melvin Van Peebles, Douglas Turner Ward, Robert Wilson, among many others.

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...