Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Jimmy Awards
Click Here for More Articles on Jimmy Awards

Nominees Announced for the 2015 National High School Musical Theatre Awards!

THE NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL THEATRE AWARDS (NHSMTA)/JIMMY AWARDS just announced that 52 high school students from across America will compete for the Jimmy™ Award for Best Performance by an Actor and Actress at the seventh annual awards ceremony. The presentation will take place on Monday, June 29th at 7:30PM at the Minskoff Theatre, 200 West 45th Street in Manhattan. Tickets can be purchased by visiting NHSMTA.COM or TICKETMASTER.COM and range from $39 to $79. Premium seats are $175.

Student performers qualify to compete in the national program by winning top honors at regional high school musical theatre awards competitions presented by Broadway League member performing arts centers. Over 1,000 high schools and 50,000 students participate in these annual events. Since its inception in 2009, the NHSMTA has enabled over $1,000,000 in university and conservatory scholarships to be awarded to talented students at the national and local level-several of whom have already been cast in Broadway, Touring and West End productions. NHSMTA nominees will prepare for their Broadway debut during a five-day professional training intensive with NYU Tisch School of the Arts' New Studio on Broadway faculty members plus other theatre professionals.

Winners will be selected by a panel of judges comprised of notable theatre professionals including Tony Award-winning producers and award-winning casting experts: Kent Gash (Associate Arts Professor; Director, New Studio on Broadway, NYU Tisch School of the Arts Department of Drama), Rachel Hoffman C.S.A. (Telsey + Company), Arielle Tepper Madover (Producer, ATM Productions), Alecia Parker (Executive Producer, National Artists Management Company), Tara Rubin C.S.A. (Tara Rubin Casting), Nick Scandalios (Executive Vice President, The Nederlander Organization), Thomas Schumacher(President, Disney Theatrical Group) and Bernie Telsey C.S.A. (Telsey + Company).

Founded in 2009 by Nederlander Alliances LLC, Pittsburgh CLO, and Broadway Education Alliance (BEA), NHSMTA's mission is to raise the profile of musical theatre in schools, recognize dedicated teachers and inspire the next generation of performers and enthusiasts. Also known as The Jimmy™ Awards, in honor of legendary Broadway producer/theatre owner James M. Nederlander, the NHSMTA is supported by many leading theatre industry organizations. More information about the National High School Musical Theatre Awards can be found at

The 2015 National High School Musical Theatre Awards

Participating Theatre Organizations and their Nominees:

City, State


Regional Awards Program

Best Actor Nominee

Best Actress Nominee

Atlanta, GA

Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre ArtsBridge Foundation

Georgia High School Musical Theater Awards Shuler Hensley Awards

Nick Eibler

McKenzie Kurtz

Charlotte, NC

Blumenthal Performing Arts

The Blumey Awards

Justin Norwood

Lauren Hunkele

Chicago, IL

Broadway in Chicago

Illinois High School Musical Theater Awards

Ben Love

Grace Etzkorn

Dallas, TX

Dallas Summer Musicals

DSM High School Musical Theatre Awards

Chris Clark

Katelyn Cave

Denver, CO

Denver Center for the Performing Arts

The Bobby G. Awards

Evatt Salinger

Emma Buchanan

Des Moines, IA

Des Moines Performing Arts

Iowa High School Musical Theater Awards

Lincoln Ginsberg

Jessica Martens

Durham, NC

Durham Performing Arts Center

Triangle Rising Star Awards

Alex Fernandez

Faith Jones

East Lansing, MI

Wharton Center for Performing Arts

Ovation Awards

Aleksander Papanastasopoulos

Maddy Mathias

Houston, TX

Theatre Under the Stars

Tommy Tune Awards

Alec Michael Ryan

Audrey McKee

Kansas City, MO

Kansas City Starlight Theatre

Blue Star Awards

Austin Dalgleish

Maggie Marx

Las Vegas, NV

The Smith Center

Nevada High School Musical Theater Awards

Deylan Dean

Courtney Neistadt

Logan, UT

MagicSpace Entertainment

Utah High School Musical Theater Awards

Jordan Kirkham

Abby Watts

Los Angeles, CA

Pantages Theatre (Broadway LA)

The Jerry Herman Awards

Josh Velez

Brianna Bryan

Madison, WI

Overture Center for the Arts

The Tommy Awards

Rayven Burdette

Emily Matt

Memphis, TN

The Orpheum Theatre

Orpheum High School Musical Theatre Awards

Maclean Mayers

Erica Peninger

Mission Viejo, CA

McCoy Rigby Entertainment

The M.A.C.Y. Awards

Anthony Skillman

Morgan Higgins

New York, NY

Camp Broadway

The Gershwin Awards

Ryan Koerber

Marla Louissaint

Norwich, CT

Palace Theater

Connecticut High School Musical Theater Awards

Zac Gottschall

Chiara Giampietro

Omaha, NE

Omaha Performing Arts

Nebraska High School Theatre Awards

Marcel Daley

Emma Brown

Pittsburgh, PA

Pittsburgh CLO

Gene Kelly Awards

Larry McKay

Marnie Quick

Rochester, NY

Rochester Broadway Theatre League

Stars of Tomorrow

Noah Barnes

Molly Feldman

San Antonio, TX

Las Casas Foundation

Las Casas Performing Arts Scholarship Competition- Joci Awards

Travis Anderson

Sabrina Uriegas

San Diego, CA Tucson, AZ

Broadway/San Diego Broadway in Tucson

The Ben Vereen Awards

Gino Cocchi

Catherine Ames

San Jose, CA

Broadway San Jose

The Rita Moreno California High School Musical Honors

Sam O'Byrne

Perry Borders

Seattle, WA

The 5th Avenue Theatre

The 5th Avenue Awards

Andrew Henson

Hannah Sulak

Tampa, FL

Straz Center for the Performing Arts

Broadway Star of the Future

Kamari Saxon

Kylie Heyman

WYNDHAM REWARDS, the simple, generous new loyalty program for Wyndham Hotel Group, is an official sponsor of the National High School Musical Theatre Awards.

The Broadway League will conduct the program through THE BROADWAY LEAGUE FOUNDATION, which acts as its philanthropic arm. Part of the Foundation's mission is to enlighten and increase the public's knowledge, appreciation and awareness of the theatrical arts, and since its founding in 1993 has supported a number of projects to help preserve Broadway's heritage and introduce new audiences to Broadway theatre. The Foundation is a corporation organized under the Not-for-Profit Corporation Law of the State of New York, the purposes of which are exclusively charitable as defined in Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986.

THE BROADWAY LEAGUE, founded in 1930, is the national trade association for the Broadway industry. The League's 700-plus members include theatre owners and operators, producers, presenters, and general managers who present in nearly 200 markets in North America, as well as suppliers of goods and services to the theatre industry. Each year, League members bring Broadway to nearly 30 million people in New York and on tour across the U.S. and Canada. The Broadway League has recently added a new category for International membership to collaborate with professionals from around the world who produce and present Broadway quality theatre., or follow The Broadway League on Twitter @TheBwayLeague or on Facebook at BROADWAY.ORG is the League's official on-line headquarters for Broadway in NYC, on tour, and internationally. Download the free mobile app for iOS or Android, and the free IBDB mobile app for iOS or Android.

The Broadway League annually presents the Antoinette Perry "Tony" Awards®, one of the most coveted awards in the entertainment industry, with The American Theatre Wing.

Photo Credit: Henry McGee

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You