NYMF Announces Alexis Fishman as the Winner of the NYMF Next Broadway Sensation Competition

NYMF Announces Alexis Fishman as the Winner of the NYMF Next Broadway Sensation Competition

Alexis Fishman has been chosen the winner of The 7th Annual NYMF Next Broadway Sensation (NBS) Over 200 people auditioned for NYMF's Next Broadway Sensation.

Australian Alexis Fishman is a graduate of the West Australian Academy of Performing Arts (Hugh Jackman's Alma Mater), Alexis comes to New York from Australia with an extensive list of credits. She originated the role of Mary O'Brien in the world premiere of Dusty - The original pop Diva and was nominated for a Helpmann Award (Australia's Tony Equivalent). Other favorites include Spiderwoman in Kiss of the Spiderwoman and Troupers for the Sydney Theatre Company. Her New York credits include The Hatpin for NYMF 2008 and Faultlines for Ruffled Feathers. Alexis is also the creator and star of Der Gelbe Stern, co-written by James Millar, which debuted at the Adelaide Cabaret Festival in 2011 followed by an Australian tour.

The eight finalists for NYMF's Next Broadway Sensation were: Daniel Belnavis, Max Chernin, Joel Dommel, Alexis Fishman, Adam Kaplan, Charlotte Munson, Shannon O'Boyle, and Josephine Spada.

Lindsay Mendez (Godspell, Dogfight) hosted the NBS heats in which the eight finalists were selected and Karen Mason (Mamma Mia!, Sunset Boulevard) hosted the Grand Finale on October 12th.

The finalists were chosen from a mix of audience votes, online votes at BroadwayWorld.com, and a panel of industry judges that included Tony nominated actors Celia Keenan-Bolger (Peter and the Starcatcher) and Tony Sheldon (Priscilla Queen of The Dessert), composer Ryan Scott Oliver (35mm), casting director Michael Cassara and ASCAP's Director of Musical Theatre Michael Kerker.

Judges at the grand finale included producer Ken Davenport (Godspell), composer Lucy Simon (The Secret Garden) and actress Donna Lynne Champlin (Billy Elliot).

The winner of Next Broadway Sensation gets a solo concert produced by NYMF and Sh-K-Boom Records, as well as performance opportunities throughout the 2013 Festival season.

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk