Click Here for More Articles on MARY POPPINS

Mary Poppins Begins Broadway Previews October 14

The Broadway production of Mary Poppins will begin previews on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at the New Amsterdam Theatre (Broadway at West 42nd Street) in preparation for a Thursday, November 16 opening night.

Ashley Brown will play the role of Mary Poppins, and direct from the West End production of the show, Oliver Award nominee Gavin Lee will play Bert on Broadway when the hit production of Mary Poppins arrives at the New Amsterdam Theatre this fall.

Joining Brown and Lee will be Daniel Jenkins (Mr. Banks), Rebecca Luker (Mrs. Banks), Jane Carr (Mrs. Brill), Mark Price (Robertson Ay), Cass Morgan (Bird Woman), Ruth Gottschall (Miss Andrew), and Michael McCarty (Admiral Boom). Katherine Doherty and Delaney Moro will alternate in the role of Jane Banks. Henry Hodges and Alexander Scheitinger will alternate in the role of Michael Banks.

The ensemble will include: Eric B. Anthony, Ann Arvia, Pam Bradley, Kristin Carbone, Brian Collier, Nick Corley, Case Dillard, Nicolas Dromard, James Hindman, Suzanne Hylenski, Stephanie Kurtzuba, Brian Letendre, Matt Loehr, Michelle Lookadoo, Tony Mansker, Tyler Maynard, Sean McCourt, Vasthy E. Mompoint, Jesse Nager, Kathleen Nanni, Megan Osterhaus, Dominic Roberts, Janelle Anne Robinson, Rommy Sandhu, Shekitra Starke, Catherine Walker, and Kevin Samual Yee.

Mary Poppins features such beloved songs as "Chim Chim Cher-ee," "Step In Time," "Spoonful of Sugar," "Feed The Birds," "Let's Go Fly A Kite," and "Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious" along with new songs such as "Practically Perfect" and "Anything Can Happen."

"Based on P.L. Travers's cherished stories and the classic 1964 Walt Disney film, Mary Poppins features the Academy Award-winning music and lyrics of Richard M. Sherman and Robert B. Sherman.  The stage production has been created, in collaboration with Cameron Mackintosh, by Academy Award-winning screenwriter Julian Fellowes, who has written the book, and the Olivier Award-winning team of George Stiles and Anthony Drewe, who have composed new songs and additional music and lyrics," state Disney notes.

Olivier Award-winning director Richard Eyre leads the award-winning creative team assembled for Mary Poppins with co-direction and choreography by Tony- and Olivier Award-winner Matthew Bourne.  The musical features set and costume design by Tony Award-winner Bob Crowley, co-choreography by Olivier Award winner Stephen Mear, lighting design by Howard Harrison, sound design by Andrew Bruce, orchestrations by William David Brohn, and musical supervision by David Caddick.

Tickets are available at the New Amsterdam Theatre Box Office, all Ticketmaster outlets or by calling Ticketmaster at (212) 307-4747.  Prices range from $20 - $110.  For group sales and information please call (800) 439-9000.

Visit for more information.

buy tickets

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram