Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Click Here for More Articles on SCHOOL OF ROCK Broadway

Mamie Parris Will Return to SCHOOL OF ROCK as Rosalie

School of Rock

Andrew Lloyd Webber's smash hit School of Rock - The Musical will welcome back to the halls of Horace Green, Mamie Parris, as Principal Rosalie Mullins beginning on Tuesday, September 25, 2018. She will play the role through the show's final performance on January 20, 2019 and succeeds Katherine McLaughlin, who plays her last performance on Sunday, September 23, 2018.

Parris returns to School of Rock having originated the role of "Patty" and understudying the role of "Rosalie" from November 9, 2015-October 9, 2016. She followed up herSchool of Rock run with a starring turn as "Grizabella" in Cats, taking over the role from original cast member Leona Lewis.

School of Rock - The Musical opened to thunderous popular and critical acclaim on Sunday, December 6, 2015 at Broadway's Winter Garden Theatre (1634 Broadway). This Ben Brantley New York Times 'Critics' Pick' "is an inspiring jolt of energy and mad skillz," raves Jesse Oxfeld of Entertainment Weekly. The Daily News cheered, Andrew Lloyd Webber "awakens the empowering message of rock!" School of Rock - The Musical was nominated for four 2016 Tony Awards, including Best Musical, Best Score (Lloyd Webber and Glenn Slater), Best Book (Julian Fellowes), and Best Leading Actor in a Musical (Alex Brightman).

Based on the hit film, School of Rock - The Musical is a hilarious new musical that follows Dewey Finn, a failed, wannabe rock star who decides to earn a few extra bucks by posing as a substitute teacher at a prestigious prep school. There he turns a class of straight-A students into a guitar-shredding, bass-slapping, mind-blowing rock band. While teaching these pint-sized prodigies what it means to truly rock, Dewey falls for the school's beautiful, but uptight headmistress, helping her rediscover the wild child within.

School of Rock - The Musical opened in London's West End, also to rave reviews, on November 14, 2016, breaking all house records at the Gillian Lynne Theatre(a record previously held by War Horse).The Daily Telegraph called the musical "The most enjoyable two hours money can buy," and the Daily Mirror considers it "a triumph for Andrew Lloyd Webber as the king of hit musicals. "School of Rock was nominated for three 2017 Olivier Awards, including Best New Musical, Best Actor in a Musical (David Fynn) and Outstanding Achievement in Music, which it won.

As it continues to bring its infectious rock and roll spirit to audiences all over the world, School of Rock is bringing the house down daily in London and New York, launched its national tour in September, 2017 in Rochester, New York, and will begin its upcoming sit-down production at Her Majesty's Theatre in Melbourne, Australia beginning October 31, 2018.

The current Broadway cast of School of Rock includes Justin Collette as "Dewey," Katherine McLaughlin as "Rosalie," Jonathan Gould as "Ned," Lori Eve Marinacci as "Patty," Conner John Gillooly as "Dewey Alternate," Matthew Jost as "Zack," Levi Buksbazen as "Freddy," Montgomery Lamb as "Katie," Jordan Coleas "Lawrence,"Ava Briglia as "Summer," Hudson Loverro as "Billy," and Layla Capers as "Tomika." The adult ensemble includes Matt Bittner, Leo Ash Evens, Badia Farha, Lizzie Klemperer, Andrew Kober, Cassie Okenka, Diane Phelan, Morgan Rose, Jesse Swimm, Josh Tower, Joel Waggoner, Jonathan Wagner, Jeremy Woodard, and J. Michael Zygo. The kids' ensemble includes Caroline Basu, Duke Culter, Darrow Golub, Katie Greendorfer, Madison Elizabeth Lagares, Madalen Yarbrough Mills, Nirvaan Pal, Theodora Silverman, Mikey Sohn, and Sarah Walsh.

School of Rock features choreography by JoAnn M. Hunter, scenic and costume design by Anna Louizos, lighting design by Natasha Katz, and sound design by Mick Potter and music supervision by Ethan Popp.

School of Rock - The Musical is produced on Broadway by Andrew Lloyd Webber for The Really Useful Group, Warner Music Group & Access Industries, The Shubert Organization, and The Nederlander Organization. Ken Davenport and Madeleine Lloyd Webber serve as Executive Producers.

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You