Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Click Here for More Articles on THE BEST MAN


Gore Vidal's THE BEST MAN began rehearsals on Monday, January 30th, with the first preview performance set for Tuesday, March 6th, in anticipation of an April 1st, 2012 opening at the Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre. Today, the company met the press and below, BroadwayWorld brings you a FREEZE FRAME photo preview!  Stay tuned for full coverage!

Gore Vidal's THE BEST MAN is coming to Broadway in an all-star theatrical event with two time Tony Award winner James Earl Jones, Tony and Emmy Award winner John Larroquette, Emmy and Golden Globe winner Candice Bergen, Emmy Award winner Eric McCormack, Tony Award nominee Kerry Butler, Tony Award winner Jefferson Mays, Drama Desk Award winner Michael McKean and five time Tony Award winner Angela Lansbury.

The design team includes Tony and Drama Desk Award winning scenic designer Derek McLane (33 Variations, Anything Goes), Tony and Drama Desk Award winning lighting designer Kenneth Posner (The Coast of Utopia, Part 2 – Shipwreck), five-time Tony Award nominated costume designer Ann Roth (The Book of Mormon), Drama Desk Award winning sound designer John Gromada (Seminar, The Orphans' Home Cycle) and projection designer Peter Nigrini (Fela!, 9 to 5: The Musical).
A play about power, ambition, political secrets, ruthlessness and the race for the presidency, Gore Vidal's THE BEST MAN is set at the national convention where two candidates are vying for their party's nomination during the primary season. It's an inside look at the dirt-digging, double-dealing, triple-crossing chicanery of presidential electioneering and what could be more fun in a presidential campaign season than these theatrical fireworks.

This marks the first major revival of Gore Vidal's THE BEST MAN since it received a Tony Award nomination and won the Drama Desk Award and Outer Critics Circle Award in 2000.

Visit for information.

Photo Credit: Walter McBride / Retna Ltd.


Michael McKean, Candice Bergen, Angela Lansbury, John Larroquette, James Earl Jones, Erc McCormack, Kerry Butler, Jefferson Mays, Donna Hanover & Director Michael Wilson

Related Articles

NOS Dance

From This Author Walter McBride