Elaine Stritch Joins Lineup for TheatreWorks USA Gala, 2/12


Theatreworks USA has just announced the complete lineup for its upcoming 50th Anniversary Celebration gala, set for this Sunday, February 12, 2012 at NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts (566 LaGuardia Place at Washington Square North).

Broadway legend and Tony Award winner Elaine Stritch will appear as the Special Guest Performer for the gala, which will also feature appearances from Special Guest Presenters Kathleen Chalfant, Nathan Lane and Sara Ramirez.

Hosted by Charles Busch and Julie Halston, Theatreworks USA's 50th Anniversary Celebration will also feature performances from Randy Aaron; Jill Abramowitz; The Book of Mormon cast members Jared Gertner and Nic Rouleau; Brad"Gorilla" Carbone; Matt Castle; Ryan Duncan; Mary Faber; Forever Plaid cast members Bradley Beahen, Frank Galgano, Robb Sapp and Jim Walton; Hudson Flynn; Ann Harada; Sheldon and Margery Harnick; Rose Hemingway; Gwen Hollander; Jamie LaVerdiere; Ian Niederhoffer; Brad Oscar; John Tartaglia; Alan W. Taylor and the Just Off-Broadway Youth Ensemble.

(Barbara Cook and Donna Murphy, both of whom were originally announced to appear, have withdrawn due to scheduling conflicts.)

The 50th Anniversary Celebration gala will honor five individuals whose longtime professional contributions to Theatreworks USA have helped to shape the organization's impressive five-decades-long history of producing top-quality professional theatre for young audiences.

Honorees include four-time Tony Award-winning director Jerry Zaks; George Forbes, Executive Director of the Lucille Lortel Foundation and President of the Off-Broadway Theatre League; Betty Jacobs, longtime Theatreworks USA Board and Founding Circle Member; Theatreworks USA Marketing Director Barbara Sandek; and NYC Department of Youth & Community Development Comissioner Jeanne Mullgrav.

The performance portion of the evening will also include a live auction by C.K Swett, presentation of the Lee Salk "Good Works" Awards, and a special tribute to Theatreworks USA Co-Founders Jay Harnick and Charles Hull.

Tickets for the 50th Anniversary Celebration are now on sale, starting at $100 (show only) and $500 (dinner and show). Tickets can be purchased by visiting www.twusa.org or by calling 212-647-1100 x126.

In addition, any individual, corporation or other organization to make a minimum $10,000 donation to Theatreworks USA for its 50th Anniversary Celebration will receive two complimentary seats and a backstage tour for The Book of Mormon, courtesy of composer, Theatreworks USA alumnus and longtime supporter Robert Lopez.

The event is co-chaired by Sheldon Harnick (Tony and Pulitzer Prize winner), Julie Halpin Anderson (Theatreworks USA Board Chair) and Tony Phelan ("Grey's Anatomy" Executive Producer).

Doors will open at 5:30 p.m. in advance of a 6 p.m. performance and a 7:30 p.m. dinner.

All proceeds from the Celebration support the productions and programs of Theatreworks USA, a not-for-profit educational and artistic corporation.

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...