Click Here for More Articles on ELF THE MUSICAL

ELF to Return to Broadway This Winter; to Play Al Hirschfeld Theater


ELF is indeed headed back to Broadway this winter, and the show will play the Al Hirschfeld Theater for 9 weeks, from November 9 to January 6 before KINKY BOOTS takes the theatre in the Spring. 

No casting for the show, which will be once again helmed by Casey Nicholaw has been announced. 

Based on the beloved 2003 New Line Cinema hit which starred Will Ferrell in the title role, ELF features a score by Tony Award nominees Matthew Sklar (Music) and Chad Beguelin (Lyrics) with a book by Tony Award winners Thomas Meehan (The Producers, Hairspray) and Bob Martin (The Drowsy Chaperone). ELF is directed and choreographed by Tony Award winner Casey Nicholaw (The Book of Mormon, Monty Python’s Spamalot).

Scenic design for ELF is by Tony nominee David Rockwell (Hairspray, Catch Me if You Can), costume design is by Tony Award winner Gregg Barnes (Follies, The Drowsy Chaperone), lighting design is by three-time Tony Award-winner Natasha Katz (Once, The Coast of Utopia) and sound design is by Tony nominee Peter Hylenski (Rock of Ages, On a Clear Day You Can See Forever). ELF features orchestrations by three-time Tony Award-winner Doug Besterman (The Producers, Thoroughly Modern Millie). Hair and Wig Design is by Josh Marquette (The Book of Mormon, Gore Vidal’s The Best Man) and Projection Design is by Zachary Borovay (Evita, Rock of Ages).

ELF's original cast and recording features Sebastian Arcelus as ‘Buddy,' Amy Spanger as ‘Jovie,' ' Tony® Award nominee Mark Jacoby as ‘Walter,' Michael Mandell as ‘Store Manager,' Michael McCormick as ‘Mr. Greenway,' Valerie Wright as ‘Deb' and Matthew Gumley as ‘Michael.' The production also stars Tony® Award winner Beth Leavel as ‘Emily,' and six-time Emmy® Award nominee George Wendt as ‘Santa.' 

The original cast recording also included Timothy J. AlexCallie CarterCara CooperLisa GajdaAsmeret GhebremichaelBlake HammondStacey Todd HoltEmily HsuJenny HillNancy JohnstonMarc KesslerMatt LoehrMatthew SchechterMichael James ScottNoah WeisbergLee Wilkins, and Kirsten Wyatt.

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...