John Rando and Martha Clarke Win 2013-14 Joe A. Callaway Awards

The Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation (SDCF) announces this season's Joe A. Callaway Award winners for Direction and Choreography from more than 200 eligible productions in the 2013-2014 New York City theatre season. This year's awards will be presented to John Rando for his direction of The Heir Apparent, produced by Classic Stage Company, and Martha Clarke for her choreography of Chéri, produced by Signature Theatre.

The Callaway Award Selection Committee, comprised of current longstanding SDC Members, also selected finalists. For Direction: Jo Bonney for Small Engine Repair, produced by MCC Theater, in association with Jon Bernthal, Eric Bernthal, and Story Factory, LLC; Gordon Edelstein for Satchmo at the Waldorf, produced by Long Wharf Theatre, Shakespeare & Company, Scott & Roxanne Bok, Roz & Jerry Meyer, Ronald Guttman, Shadowcatcher Entertainment, John LaMattina, Joey Parnes, S.D. Wagner, and John Johnson; Doug Hughes for The City of Conversation, produced by Lincoln Center Theater at the Mitzi E. Newhouse; Des McAnuff for Fetch Clay, Make Man, produced by New York Theatre Workshop; and Moritz von Stuelpnagel for Hand to God, produced by MCC Theater. For Choreography: Chase Brock for Tamar of the River, produced by Prospect Theater Company; Denis Jones for Piece of My Heart: The Bert Berns Story, produced by Merged Work Productions; Bob Richard for Inventing Mary Martin, produced by The York Theatre Company; and Shea Sullivan for Pageant, produced by SAS Productions, Kitty Potapow, Drew Desky, Michelle R. Rogers, and ABS Productions.

The 2013-2014 Joe A. Callaway Award recognizes excellence in the crafts of direction and choreography during the New York City theatre season from September 1, 2013 through August 31, 2014 and is the only award given by professional directors and choreographers to their peers for work on a specific production. The production must take place within the five boroughs of New York City under an SDC contract and an Actors' Equity Association contract, excluding Showcase code and Broadway contracts, and the artist must be a Member of SDC.

SDCF's Joe A. Callaway Award was first presented in 1989. Previous winners are Gloria Muzio, Frank Galati, Susan Stroman, George C. Wolfe, Hope Clarke, Harold Prince, Gerald Gutierrez, Joe Mantello, Scott Elliott, Julie Taymor, Moises Kaufman, Frank Galati, Graciela Daniele, Trevor Nunn, Gabriel Barre, Mark Dendy, Jack O'Brien, Bartlett Sher, Devanand Janki, Daniel Sullivan, Doug Hughes, Christopher Gattelli, Peter DuBois, Bill T. Jones, Thomas Kail, Andy Blankenbuehler, Giovanna Sardelli, Lynne Taylor-Corbett, Garry Hynes, Martha Clarke, Ciaran O'Reilly, Byron Easley, Carolyn Cantor, Larry Keigwin, John Tiffany, Steven Hoggett, Ruben Santiago-Hudson, and Marlo Hunter.

This award is given annually and serves as a complement to the Zelda Fichandler Award, which recognizes a regional director changing the landscape of their community, and the "Mr. Abbott" Award, presented in recognition of lifetime achievement in theatre. The Joe A. Callaway Awards will be presented alongside the Fichandler Award this year on November 3 in New York City.

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Never Miss a Story
Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram