Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Counting Off the Tony Awards Already Won by the 2022 Nominees!

The 2022 Tony nominees have already won 67 awards for their past work.

The 2022 Tony nominees are already winners... literally. For some, this marks their first nomination, but others have already won Tony Awards in seasons past. We took a look at which nominees have won at least a Tony or two (or six!) - amongst them, they've gathered a total 67 awards!

Check out who'll be looking to add even more hardware to their Tony shelf at this year's ceremony!

Counting Off the Tony Awards Already Won by the 2022 Nominees!

Six-Time Tony Award Winners

Natasha Katz- Aida (2000), The Coast of Utopia (2007), Once (2012), The Glass Menagerie (2014), An Ameircan in Paris (2015), Long Day's Journey Into Night (2016)

Angela Lansbury- Mame (1966), Dear World (1969), Gypsy (1975), Sweeney Todd (1979), Blithe Spirit (2009), Special Award (2022)

William Ivey Long- Nine (1982), Crazy for You (1992), The Producers (2001), Hairspray (2003), Grey Gardens (2007), Rodgers + Hammerstein's Cinderella (2013)

Counting Off the Tony Awards Already Won by the 2022 Nominees!

Four-Yime Tony Award Winner

Santo Loquasto- The Cherry Orchard (1977), Cafe Crown (1989), Grand Hotel (1990), Hello, Dolly! (2017)

Counting Off the Tony Awards Already Won by the 2022 Nominees!

Three-Time Tony Award Winners

Neil Austin- Red (2010), Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (2018), Ink (2019)

Jason Robert Brown- Parade (1999), The Bridges of Madison County (2014), The Bridges of Madison County (2014)

Scott Pask- The Pillowman (2005), The Coast of Utopia (2007), The Book of Mormon (2011)

Counting Off the Tony Awards Already Won by the 2022 Nominees!

Two-Time Tony Award Winners

Marianne Elliott- War Horse (2011), The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time (2015)

Sutton Foster- Thoroughly Modern MIllie (2002), Anything Goes (2011)

Jane Greenwood- Lifetime Achievement (2014), The Little Foxes (2017)

Donald Holder- The Lion King (1998), South Pacific (2008)

Hugh Jackman- The Boy from Oz (2004), Special Award (2012)

Bill T. Jones- Spring Awakening (2007), Fela! (2010)

Bradley King- Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812 (2017), Hadestown (2019)

Tom Kitt- Next to Normal (2009), Next to Normal (2009)

Patti LuPone- Evita (1980), Gyspy (2008)

Derek McLane- 33 Variations (2009), Moulin Rouge! (2020)

Mary-Louise Parker- Proof (2001), The Sound Inside (2020)

Counting Off the Tony Awards Already Won by the 2022 Nominees!

One-Time Tony Award Winners

Simon Baker- A Christmas Carol (2020)

Beowulf Boritt- Act One (2014)

Warren Carlyle- After Midnight (2014)

Bunny Christie- The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time (2015)

Chuck Cooper- The Life (1997)

Jayne Houdyshell- The Humans (2016)

LaChanze- The Color Purple (2006)

Sam Mendes- The Ferryman (2019)

Phylicia Rashad- A Raisin in the Sun (2004)

Charlie Rosen- Moulin Rouge! (2020)

Ruben Santiago-Hudson- Seven Guitars (1996)

Paul Tazewell- Hamilton (2016)

Christopher Wheeldon- An American in Paris (2015)

Julie White- The Little Dog Laughed (2007)

Grand total: 67 Tony Awards

Related Stories

From This Author - Team BWW

Play BroadwayWorld's Daily Word Game - 8/10/2022
August 10, 2022

Today's BroadwayWorld Daily Word Game is now live - can you guess today's word or phrase? The solution can be any theatre related word or phrase - a show title, performer, recognizable lyrical phrase, and more.

Lin-Manuel Miranda Responds to McAllen Church HAMILTON and Thanks Dramatists Guild
August 9, 2022

Hamilton creator Lin-Manuel Miranda has responded to the The Door McAllen Church's unauthorized production of Hamilton and thanked The Dramatists Guild, which exists to help aid dramatists in protecting both the artistic and economic integrity of their work.

Photos: Talia Suskauer, Cleavant Derricks, Mikayla Renfrow & More Join WICKED On Broadway
August 9, 2022

See all new photos of the cast of WICKED on Broadway in action! The current company includes Talia Suskauer as Elphaba, Brittney Johnson as Glinda, Sharon Sachs as Madame Morrible, Jordan Barrow as Boq, Tony Award winner Cleavant Derricks as The Wizard, James D. Gish as Fiyero, Tony Award nominee Clifton Davis as Doctor Dillamond, and Broadway newcomer Mikayla Renfrow as Nessarose.

HAMILTON is Reviewing Unauthorized Changes Made by Texas Church Production to Decide Further Action
August 9, 2022

RGV Productions of The Door Christian Fellowship Ministries in McAllen, Texas performed an unauthorized, wildly edited version of Hamilton last week that has raised eyebrows across the country.

Crystal Lucas-Perry, Carolee Carmello, Elizabeth A. Davis, and More Will Lead 1776 on Broadway
August 9, 2022

Roundabout Theatre Company has announced the complete cast for the new Broadway production of the Tony Award-winning musical, 1776, directed by Jeffrey L. Page and Diane Paulus.