Click Here for More Articles on SMASH on NBC

Brian d'Arcy James to Appear in SMASH Season 2 Premiere


According to Newsday, Tony Award nominee and Broadway star Brian d'Arcy James, who is currently starring in the world premiere of the musical Giant at The Public Theater through December 2, will return to NBC's "Smash" in the premiere episode of season 2 as Debra Messing's husband 'Frank Houston'.

"Let's just say Frank has a chance to respond to some of the things that occurred last season," James told Newsday.

Read the original report here.

The second season of SMASH will also include a growing list of high-profile guest stars, including Nikki Blonsky, Jesse L. Martin, Jeremy Jordan, Sean Hayes, Jennifer Hudson and Bernadette Peters.

James has appeared on Broadway in Time Stands Still, Next to Normal, Shrek the Musical, The Apple Tree, The Lieutenant of Inishmore, Children And Art, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels, Sweet Smell of Success, Titanic, Carousel and Blood Brothers. His off-Broadway theatre credits include Giant (as mentioned above), Port Authority, Flight, Pardon My English, The Wild Party, Floyd Collins, Public Enemy and more.

“Smash” is a musical drama that celebrates the beauty and heartbreak of the Broadway theater as it follows a cross-section of dreamers and schemers who all have one common desire – to be a Broadway star. The series stars Emmy Award winner Debra Messing (“Will & Grace”), Oscar winner Anjelica Huston (“Prizzi's Honor”), Jack Davenport (“Pirates of the Caribbean” films), Tony Award winner Christian Borle (“Peter and the Starcatcher”), Katharine McPhee (“American Idol”), Megan Hilty (“9 to 5: The Musical”), Tony Award nominee Jeremy Jordan (“Newsies”), Andy Mientus ("Spring Awakening"), Leslie Odom Jr. ("Leap of Faith") and Krysta Rodriguez ("Spring Awakening").

From Universal Television in association with DreamWorks Television, “Smash” stemmed from an idea of executive producer and multiple Emmy and Oscar winner Steven Spielberg (“ER,” “Schindler's List”). The series’ executive producers also include Joshua Safran (“Gossip Girl”), Craig Zadan and Neil Meron (Oscar-winning “Chicago,” “Hairspray”), Darryl Frank and Justin Falvey (“United States of Tara,” “The Borgias”), Tony and Grammy Award winners Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman (“Hairspray,” “Catch Me If You Can”), Jim Chory (“Heroes,” “American Dreams”) and Theresa Rebeck (“Mauritius,” “NYPD Blue”).

"Smash" season 2 is set to premiere midseason on February 5, 2013 on NBC.

buy tickets

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram