Click Here for More Articles on 2012 AWARDS SEASON

Breaking News: Drama Desk Awards Reinstate 'Outstanding Orchestrations'; Nominees Announced

Last week the Drama Desk announced its nominees for the 2011-2012 season celebrating the best of On, Off and Off-Off Broadway. Absent from this year's list was a category honoring the "Outstanding Orchestrations."

After hearing the outpouring of concern and support for the category (including an online petition, created by Jamie McGonnigal, with 3,000+ signatures from industry notables and fans), the Drama Desk Executive Board has announced that they will reinstate the category for this year's awards show on June 3 at The Town Hall. 

The Nominating Committee reassembled over the weekend to select this year's most Outstanding Orchestrations. 

This year's nominees for Outstanding Orchestrations include: 

1. Bill Elliott, Nice Work If You Can Get It 

2. Larry Hochman, Death Takes a Holiday 

3. Martin Lowe, Once 

4. John McDaniel, Bonnie & Clyde 

5. Michael Starobin, Queen of the Mist 

6. Danny Troob, Newsies 

"The Drama Desk prides itself on celebrating New York's rich theatrical community. Our Executive Board appreciates the forthright and passionate response to our nominations announcement and have taken your comments to heart. The Executive Board is very happy to reinstate the Outstanding Orchestrations category and honor the dedication and hard work of this season's talented orchestrators." said Isa Goldberg, Drama Desk President

"The Drama Desk Nominating Committee members have worked tirelessly to create a list of nominees that incorporate the very best of New York's theatrical community. We are very proud to include the nominations for Outstanding Orchestrations" added Barbara Siegel, Chairperson of the Drama Desk Nominating Committee

The 2011-2012 Drama Desk Nominating Committee is composed of: Barbara Siegel, Chairperson (TalkinBroadway.com, TheaterMania.com); Suzanna Bowling (Times Square Chronicles); Lawrence Harbison (Smith and Kraus, Inc.); Mark Peikert (Back Stage); Richard Ridge (Broadway Beat TV/BroadwayWorld.com) and Frank Verlizzo (Fraver Design). The 57th Annual Drama Desk Awards will take place on Sunday, June 3, 2012, at 8:00 PM at The Town Hall in Manhattan.

Related Articles

From This Author BWW Special Coverage

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram