Click Here for More Articles on HUGH JACKMAN

Anne Hathaway, Liev Schreiber and More to Join Hugh Jackman at Museum of the Moving Image Salute, 12/1

Anne Hathaway, Liev Schreiber and More to Join Hugh Jackman at Museum of the Moving Image Salute, 12/1

Tony and Emmy Award winner Hugh Jackman will be honored by Museum of the Moving Image at its 27th annual Salute on December 11, 2012 at Cipriani Wall Street in New York.

Jackman will be on hand at Cipriani Wall Street on December 11, to accept his Salute from the Museum of the Moving Image (the Museum's 27th annual event). There are already a great group of friends and colleagues expected to join in the celebration to honor Hugh that night, including Alec Baldwin and Mike Nichols (both past MMI Salutees), Rachel Weisz, Anne Hathaway, Liev Schreiber, Universal's Ron Meyer, Fox's Jim Gianopulos and many of his fellow cast-mates from Les Miz, with more to come.

Carl Goodman, the Museum’s Executive Director, stated, “We are thrilled to be honoring one of the world’s most beloved and talented performers.”

Hugh Jackman is perhaps best known around the world as Wolverine in the X-Men series, and has starred in films for such directors as Baz Luhrmann (Australia), Woody Allen (Scoop), Christopher Nolan (The Prestige), and Darren Aronofsky (The Fountain). Later this year, he will headline as Jean Valjean in the eagerly awaited screen version of the musical epic Les Misérables from acclaimed director Tom Hooper (The King’s Speech), set for a December 14th release.

As comfortable on stage as he is on screen, Jackman has seen additional success on Broadway with credits including the musical The Boy From Oz (for which he won Tony, Drama Desk, Drama League, Outer Critics Circle and Theatre World Awards), his recent one-man show Hugh Jackman: Back on Broadway, and the drama A Steady Rain opposite Daniel Craig. In addition to serving as Tony Awards host for three consecutive years from 2003 – 2005 (his second appearance earned him an Emmy Award, and the final garnered an Emmy nomination), Jackman brought hishoned skills to Hollywood where he hosted the 81st Annual Academy Awards in 2009.

Hugh Jackman joins the ranks of past honorees who have received the Museum’s Salute, including Alec Baldwin, Tom Cruise, Clint Eastwood, Robert DeNiro, Goldie Hawn, Dustin Hoffman, Tom Hanks, Steve Martin, Mike Nichols, Al Pacino, Sidney Poitier, Julia Roberts, Martin Scorsese, and Steven Spielberg.

Funds raised from the Salute support the programs, exhibitions, and educational activities of Museum of the Moving Image. The education programs, which include curriculum-basedtours, screenings, and workshops, serve nearly 60,000 students per year.

The MMI Salute to Hugh Jackman is produced by Scott Mauro Entertainment, Inc; Scott Mauro, Executive Producer. This is the second consecutive MMI event produced by Scott Mauro Entertainment following the Salute to Alec Baldwin.

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...