Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Dramatists Guild Awards Night Postponed

Due to the impact of Hurricane Sandy, the Dramatists Guild of America is cancelling their 2012 Awards Night on Monday, November 5 at The Players Club. The Dramatists Guild will reschedule the Awards Night to a later date, which will be announced in the coming weeks. The Guild's thoughts and well wishes are with everyone affected by the storm and they are most appreciative of your understanding during this difficult time.

The Dramatists Guild of America's awards ceremony will be hosted by Lisa Kron. Performers include Amanda GreenMary Testa, and Kenita Miller.

This year's awards go to Stephen Karam, for his play, Sons of the Prophet, recipient of the 2012 Hull-Warriner Award; Alan Menken, for his score to Newsies and Michael John LaChiusa for his score to Queen of the Mist, recipients of the Frederick Loewe Award for Dramatic Composition; Philip Kan Gotandarecipient of the Flora Roberts Award; and Micki Grantrecipient of the Dramatists Guild Award for Lifetime Achievement.

The Hull-Warriner Award is the only award given by dramatists to dramatists; it is presented annually by the Dramatists Guild Council to an author or team of authors in recognition of their play dealing with controversial subjects involving the fields of political, religious, or social mores of the times. Previous winners include Lynn Nottage, David Ives, Tracy Letts, Steven Sater & Duncan Sheik, Marsha Norman and Dael Orlandersmith.

The Frederick Loewe Award, given by the Frederick Loewe Foundation and presented annually by the Dramatists Guild Council to a composer, recognizes achievement in a theatrical score presented in New York during the previous theatrical season.  Past winners include Robert Lopez, Trey Parker & Matt Stone, John Kander, Tom Kitt, Lin-Manuel Miranda and Scott Frankel.

The Flora Roberts Award, administered by the Dramatists Guild Fund, is presented to a dramatist in recognition of distinguished work in the theater and to encourage the continuation of that work.  Previous recipients include Christopher Durang, Michael Weller, Polly Pen, Craig Lucas, Ed Bullins, Adrienne Kennedy and Tina Howe.     

The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented by the Dramatists Guild Council in recognition of lifetime achievement in theatrical writing. Previous recipients include Paula Vogel, Terrence McNally, Sheldon Harnick & Jerry Bock, Lanford Wilson, Joseph Stein, Horton Foote, August Wilson, Stephen Sondheim, Edward Albee and Arthur Miller.         

The evening will begin with cocktails and hors d'oeuvres at 7pm. Tickets for the event are $100. For more information or to order tickets, contact Tari Stratton at the Dramatists Guild of America at (212) 398-9366, x20, or

Photo Credit: Walter McBride / Retna Ltd.

Related Articles
Vote Now for the Best of the Decade Awards

More Hot Stories For You