Alan Menken to Receive York Theatre Company's Lifetime Achievement Award at 22nd Oscar Hammerstein Award Gala, 12/9

The York Theatre Company will honor legendary Broadway and film composer Alan Menken with the Oscar Hammerstein Award for Lifetime Achievement in Musical Theatre at the 22nd Oscar Hammerstein Award Gala to be held Monday, December 9, 2013 at The Hudson Theatre (145 West 44thStreet).

Also this evening, The York Theatre Company Founder's Award will be presented to York Chairman of the Board W. David McCoy to honor his significant long-term contributions to the theatre and his lifelong commitment to sustaining the arts.

Reception begins at 6:30 p.m. followed by dinner at 7:30 p.m. with award ceremony and entertainment beginning at 8:30 p.m. Benefit Committee Co-Chairs are Nina Korelitz Matza and Jim Kierstead. For additional information, pricing and reservations, please visit the website, or call 212-935-5824, ext 215.

The evening's entertainment will be hosted by Norm Lewis (Porgy and Bess, The Little Mermaid). It will be directed by Scott H. Mauro / Scott Mauro Entertainment, Inc. with music direction by Andrew Gerle (Closer Than Ever). Broadway veterans Sierra Boggess (The Little Mermaid, Phantom of the Opera), Liz Callaway (Miss Saigon, Baby), Beth Fowler (Beauty and the Beast, Sweeney Todd), Debbie Gravitte(Jerome Robbins' Broadway), multi award-winning composer/lyricist Stephen Schwartz, and more, are scheduled to perform, with a special appearance by Alice Hammerstein Mathias (all subject to availability).

Alan Menken is an award-winning American musical theatre and film composer and pianist. Theater: God Bless You Mr. Rosewater, Little Shop Of Horrors, Real Life Funnies, Atina: Evil Queen Of The Galaxy, Kicks, The Apprenticeship Of Duddy Kravitz, Beauty And The Beast, A Christmas Carol, Weird Romance, King David, Der Glöckner Von Notre Dame, The Little Mermaid, Sister Act, Leap Of Faith, Aladdin and Newsies. Film: Little Shop Of Horrors, The Little Mermaid, Beauty And The Beast, Newsies, Aladdin, Pocahontas, The Hunchback Of Notre Dame, Hercules, Life With Mikey, Lincoln, Home On The Range, Noel, Enchanted, Shaggy Dog, Tangled and Mirror Mirror. Songs: Rocky V, Home Alone 2 and Captain America. Awards: 8 Oscars (19 nominations), 11 Grammys (including Song of the Year), 7 Golden Globes, Tony (plus 4 nominations), Drama Desk, Outer Critics Circle, New York Drama Critics, Olivier and London's Evening Standard Award, Drama League. Honors: Songwriter's Hall of Fame, Doctorates from New York University and University of North Carolina School of the Arts.

The Oscar Hammerstein Award, named in honor of the prolific master lyricist, recognizes significant lifetime achievement in musical theatre. The award is presented at an annual gala which benefits The York Theatre Company, and is presented with the endorsement of the Rodgers & Hammerstein Organization and the Hammerstein Family. Past recipients include Stephen Sondheim, Betty Comden & Adolph Green, Harold Prince, Cy Coleman, Charles Strouse, Arthur Laurents, Jerry Herman, Stephen Schwartz, Peter Stone, David Merrick, John Kander & Fred Ebb, Terrence McNally, Cameron Mackintosh, Carol Channing, Tony Walton, Joseph Stein, George S. Irving, Jerry Bock & Sheldon Harnick, Thomas Meehan, Barbara Cook, and Paul Gemignani.

The York Theatre Company Founder's Award recognizes individuals who have made a significant impact on the sustainability of the arts. It has been awarded only once before -- to Janet Hayes Walker, the founder of the York Theatre Company.

W. David McCoy has served The York Theatre Company for over 37 years, as President, then Chairman of the Board. He enjoyed a long and successful career as an executive with Exxon International and Esso Middle East. He is President of the Croquet Foundation of America and also serves on the National Council of Glimmerglass Opera Company and Board of The Omega Ensemble. A Patron of the New York Philharmonic and Cooperstown Music Festival, David's past honors include the National Arts and Business Council's Business Volunteer of the Year Award and Manhattan's Our Town newspaper's "Our Town Thanks You!" (OTTY) Award.

Scott Mauro is an award-winning producer of theatrical productions, star-studded live events and television specials. Before establishing his own Production Company in 1993, Scott Mauro Entertainment, Inc., Mauro was Director of Network Specials for Walt Disney Television serving as Executive Producer and Creative Director on all of Disney's NBC specials. He has worked with such entertainment icons as Frank Sinatra, Liza Minnelli, Cee-Lo, Stevie Nicks, David Bowie, Lionel Richie, Adam Levine, Cher, and Diana Ross, to name a few. A Broadway marketing veteran, Mauro is currently represented on Broadway as Producer for the acclaimed revival of The Glass Menagerie. He was a producer of the hit musical, Priscilla: Queen of the Desert at the Palace Theatre and was involved with the Broadway musicals Nice Work If You Can Get It andPromises, Promises.

The York Theatre Company's intimate, imaginative style of producing both new and classic musicals has resulted in critical acclaim and exciting new productions; over 35 original cast recordings; commercial transfers of York premieres and revivals including The Musical of Musicals (The Musical!), Souvenir, Jolson & Company, Sweeney Todd, and Pacific Overtures. Recent honors include 8 AuDelCo nominations for its production of Storyville (including Outstanding Production of a Musical) and the Off Broadway Alliance's "Best Musical Revival" Award for Closer Than Ever. The company was also awarded a special Drama Desk Award for producing and developing new musicals, celebrating the importance of the York and its programs.

For additional information, please visit the website at

Photo Credit: Lisa Crosby

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram