35MM: A MUSICAL EXHIBITION Cast Recording Now Available


Ghostlight Records's recording of that the debut album from composer Ryan Scott Oliver, 35MM: A Musical Exhibition (Original Cast Recording), is available for purchase in stores beginning today. Online orders can be placed at http://sh-k-boom.com/35mm.shtml. When it was released digitally on Tuesday, August 14, 35MM debuted in the Top 10 on the Billboard Soundtracks chart.

Boasting an entirely original score by Ryan Scott Oliver, inspired by the photography of Matthew Murphy, 35MM: A Musical Exhibition (Original Cast Recording) is born from a collaboration between two emerging talents of different mediums. Oliver explains, "In 35MM, photos inspire songs. Sometimes the songs tell the stories of the photographs; other times the feeling, mood, or tone was captured; and in still others, the photographs are doorways into worlds by which a song comes to life. The collaboration was seamless and we hope it creates a new kind of link between music and image for all who hear it."

35MM features twenty-two original songs, including "On Monday," "The Party Goes With You," "Leave Luanne," "Why, Must We Tell Them Why?" "Cut You A Piece," and "The Ballad Of Sara Berry," performed by a cast of five rising stars, including Alex Brightman (Wicked), Ben Crawford (Shrek), Jay Armstrong Johnson (Hands on a Hard Body, Hair), Lindsay Mendez (Dogfight), and Betsy Wolfe (The Mystery of Edwin Drood, Everyday Rapture). 

35MM features Music Direction by Michael Borth, and a band that includes Matt Hinkley on Acoustic/Electric Guitars, Allison Seidner on Cello, Rich Silverstein on Keyboard, Yuiko Kamakari on Violin/Viola, and Jeremy Yaddaw on Drums/Percussion.

The complete track list of 35MM: A Musical Exhibition (Original Cast Recording) is as follows:

1. Stop Time
2. Crazytown
3. Transition 1
4. On Monday
5. Caralee
6. The Party Goes With You
7. Good Lady
8. Transition 2
9. Make Me Happy
10. The Seraph
11. Immaculate Deception
12. Transition 3
13. Leave, Luanne
14. Mama, Let Me In
15. Why, Must We Tell Them Why
16. Twisted Teeth
17. Hemming and Hawing
18. Transition 4
19. Cut You a Piece
20. Transition 5
21. The Ballad of Sara Berry
22. Finale

The original cast recording of 35MM was produced by Dean Sharenow and Ryan Scott Oliver. John Johnson served as Associate Producer. It was recorded and mixed by Dean Sharenow, mastered by Scott Hull at Masterdisk, NYC, and mixed at Steel Cut Audio, NYC. The album was recorded at Sear Sound, NYC in February, 2012.

The recent, sold-out production of 35MM at Brookyln's Galapagos Arts Space was presented by John Johnson and Very Intense Productions in association with Angelina Burnett, Tom & Renee Christina, Diane Finston, Michael Seel and Van Patten Media.

Related Articles

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...