Click Here for More Articles on 2019 AWARDS SEASON

2015 Astaire Awards Celebrate Top Dancers, Joel Grey and More This Evening

Broadway legend Joel Grey (CABARET, WICKED) and Hollywood producer Harvey Weinstein (FINDING NEVERLAND) will be the honorees at this year's Fred and Adele Astaire Awards. The gala evening celebrates the 2015 season's outstanding dance and choreography on Broadway and film.

The event will take place tonight, June 1, 2015 at NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts, with this year's nominations announced on May 4 at Central Park.

Tony winning actor Joel Grey will be this year's recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award. Academy Award winner Harvey Weinstein will be acknowledged for his Outstanding Contribution to Musical Theatre and Film.

Joel Grey, who won a Tony Award for his role as the Emcee in the original 1967 Broadway production of CABARET as well as an Oscar for reprising his role in the film adaptation, has also starred on Broadway in Anything Goes, Wicked, Chicago, The Grand Tour, Goodtime Charley, George M!, Half a Sixpence, Stop the World - I Want to Get Off, Come Blow Your Horn and Joy Ride, as well as off-Broadway's Give Me Your Answer, Do!, The Normal Heart, Silverlake, MARCO POLO Sings a Solo and more. Grey has made guest appearances on TV in Warehouse 13, Nurse Jackie, Grey's Anatomy, Private Practice, Brothers & Sisters, House, Alias, Crossing Jordan, Law & Order: CI, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and also starred in the series Oz.

Scroll down for this year's nominees!

Best Female Dancer:

Annaleigh Ashford - You Can't Take it With You

Leanne Cope - American in Paris

Jill Paice - American in Paris

Megan Fairchild - On the Town

Erin Davie - Sideshow

Emily Padgett - Sideshow

XiaoChuan Xie - The King and I

Melanie Moore - Finding Neverland

Best Male Dancer:

Robert Fairchild - American in Paris

Clyde Alves - On the Town

Tony Yazbeck - On the Town

Jay Armstrong Johnson - On the Town

Phillip Attmore - On the Twentieth Century

Rick Faugno - On the Twentieth Century

Drew King - On the Twentieth Century

Richard Riaz Yoder - On the Twentieth Century

Christian Borle - Something Rotten

Alex Sharp - The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Best Choreographer:

Christopher Wheeldon - American in Paris

Joshua Bergasse - On the Town

Christopher Gattelli - The King and I

Warren Carlyle - On the Twentieth Century

Casey Nicholaw - Something Rotten

Scott Graham & Steven Hoggett for Frantic Assembly - The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Steven Hoggett - The Last Ship

Mia Michaels - Finding Neverland

Photo Credit: Walter McBride

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Never Miss a Story
Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram