Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Click Here for More Articles on CHEYENNE JACKSON

2004-5 Drama League Award Winners Announced

The Drama League announced the winners for The 71st Annual Drama League Awards, which were presented at its annual luncheon and ceremony on Friday, May 13, 2005. The ceremony was hosted by previous Distinguished Performance Award recipient Cherry Jones.

For more information on the Drama League, visit

Winners appear in RED

• The Day Emily Married
• Death and the Ploughman
• A Number
• Orson's Shadow
• The Pillowman
• Svejk

• Glengarry Glen Ross
• Hurlyburly
• Reckless
• Rose Rage
• Twelve Angry Men
• Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?

• Altar Boyz
• Dirty Rotten Scoundrels
• The Frogs
• Ghetto Superstar
• The Light in the Piazza
• The Musical of Musicals
• Spamalot
The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee

• La Cage aux Folles
• Pacific Overtures
• Shockheaded Peter

In addition, The Drama League presented three special awards to the following previously-announced recipients:

The Julia Hansen Award for Excellence in Directing
Presented to Mike Nichols

The Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award
Presented to The Billy Rose Theatre Collection at the NY Public Library at Lincoln Center

The Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award
Presented to The BMI Musical Theatre Workshop

Distinguished Performance Award
Norbert Leo Butz Dirty Rotten Scound.
Jim Dale Address Unknown
Kieran Culkin After Ashley
Cheyenne Jackson All Shook Up
**Ensemble Altar Boyz
Geraldine Hughes Belfast Blues
T.R. Knight Boy
Eden Espinosa Brooklyn
John Rubinstein Counsellor-at-Law
Adam Rothenberg Danny … Deep Blue Sea
Estelle Parsons The Day Emily Married
Rachel York Dessa Rose
*John Lithgow Dirty Rotten Scound.
Sherie Rene Scott Dirty Rotten Scound.
Judith Ivey Dirty Tricks
Heather Goldenhersh Doubt
*Cherry Jones Doubt
Brian F. O'Byrne Doubt
Alvin Epstein Endgame
Martha Plimpton The False Servant
Jeremy Piven Fat Pig
Julie White Fiction
Cameron Folmar Five by Tenn
Matthew Broderick The Foreigner
Roger Bart The Frogs
Nathan Lane The Frogs
Phylicia Rashad Gem of the Ocean
Billy Porter Ghetto Superstar
Jessica Lange The Glass Menagerie
Alan Alda Glengarry Glen Ross
Liev Schreiber Glengarry Glen Ross
Eve Ensler The Good Body
Lea DeLaria Happy Days
*Bebe Neuwirth Here Lies Jenny
Ethan Hawke Hurlyburly
Eamonn Walker Julius Caesar
Denzel Washington Julius Caesar
Gary Beach La Cage aux Folles
Victoria Clark Light in the Piazza
Sutton Foster Little Women
Anthony Mackie McReele
Heather Raffo Nine Parts of Desire
Dallas Roberts A Number
*James Earl Jones On Golden Pond
Leslie Uggams On Golden Pond
**Ensemble Orson's Shadow
B.D. Wong Pacific Overtures
Jeff Goldblum The Pillowman
Michael Stuhlbarg The Pillowman
*Mary Louise Parker Reckless
Peter Dinklage Richard III
Larry Bryggman Romance
**Ensemble Rose Rage
Billy Crystal 700 Sundays
Laura Linney Sight Unseen
Judy Kaye Souvenir
Sara Ramirez Spamalot
*Frances Sternhagen Steel Magnolias
Stephen Spinella Svejk
Jesse Tyler Ferguson 25th Annual … Spelling Bee
Dan Fogler 25th Annual … Spelling Bee
Fritz Weaver Trying
**Ensemble Twelve Angry Men
Julie Halston White Chocolate
Whoopi Goldberg Whoopi
Bill Irwin Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
Kathleen Turner Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
Mercedes Ruehl Woman Before a Glass

* Denotes a previous recipient of the Distinguished Performance Award.
** Ensemble Recognition; the show's producer(s) will select two cast members to represent their acting ensemble on the Drama League dais.

The first Drama League Award was presented to actress Katharine Cornell in 1935. Since then, the Distinguished Performance Award has been accorded to a roster of theatre legends such as Helen Hayes, Ingrid Bergman, Julie Harris, Jessica Tandy, Sir Alec Guinness, Sir John Gielgud, Rosemary Harris, Christopher Plummer, Frances Sternhagen, Sir Ian McKellen, Jeremy Irons, Bernadette Peters, James Earl Jones, John Lithgow, Stockard Channing, Glenn Close, Bebe Neuwirth, Mary Louise Parker, Liam Neeson, Harvey Fierstein and Hugh Jackman, among others.

The Drama League was founded in 1916 as an association of theatre professionals and patrons dedicated to encouraging the finest in professional theatre, and has since then developed into the theatre's premiere service organization. The Drama League provides an unparalleled training program for emerging theatre artists through The Directors Project, which encourages and trains young talents while providing much-needed exposure and essential connections to the professional theatrical community.

The Drama League is also dedicated to building strong, passionate audiences for the American theatre and provides discounted tickets for its members to the best Broadway, Off-Broadway, and regional productions across the United States while enhancing the theatergoer's understanding and experience of live theatre through its informative panels, luncheons and discussions with leading figures in the field.

Related Articles

More Hot Stories For You