Arizona Citizens for the Arts Selects Legislative Arts Champions

July 11
11:50 AM 2014
Arizona Citizens for the Arts Selects Legislative Arts Champions

Eleven members of the Arizona Senate and House of Representatives have been named 2014 Arts Champions for supporting the renewal of a $1 million appropriation to the Arizona Commission on the Arts during the 2013-14 legislative session.

The group of senators and representatives led legislative efforts to include in the State budget the allocation derived from interest earned on the state Rainy Day Fund for grants to nonprofit arts and culture organizations across Arizona.

The 10 Republicans and one Democrat were chosen "for their collaborative efforts to ensure critical funding that will benefit the entire state of Arizona," said Catherine "Rusty" Foley, executive director of Arizona Citizens for the Arts. "We are grateful that once again, Arizona will be investing these dollars in local arts and culture organizations that, in turn, support the economy and quality of life in communities all over our state.

Arts Champions from the Arizona Senate are:

Steve Pierce, Republican, District 1; Steve Farley, Democrat, District 9; John McComish, Republican, District 18; Michele Reagan, Republican, District 23, and Bob Worsley, Republican, District 25.

Members of the House of Representatives receiving the award are:

Karen Fann, Republican, District 1; Ethan Orr, Republican, District 9; Heather Carter, Republican, District 15; Bob Robson, Republican, District 18; Rick Gray, Republican, District 21; Kate Brophy McGee, Republican, District 28. For more information about Arizona Citizens for the Arts, visit



Now. Here. This.
A/C Theatre Company
(Runs 3/11 - 3/26)
Passing Strange in PhoenixPassing Strange
ASU West Campus - Second Stage West
(Runs 2/18 - 2/21)
Valley Youth Theatre
(Runs 4/8 - 4/24)
Annie Get Your Gun (Stone)
Sun City Players
(Runs 3/11 - 3/20)
missing grace in Phoenixmissing grace
Brelby Theatre Company
(Runs 2/25 - 3/5)