tv.broadwayworld.com

NBC Cancels Plans for MURDER SHE WROTE Reboot Starring Octavia Spencer

Related: NBC
NBC Cancels Plans for MURDER SHE WROTE Reboot Starring Octavia Spencer

Deadline reports NBC's plans to reboot the hit series "Murder, She Wrote," will no longer be moving forward. Instead, the peacock network says it will be looking at an alternate approach to relaunch the franchise sometime further down the road.

Academy Award winning actress Octavia Spencer was to star in the new series while Alexandra Cunningham was set to write the pilot script with David Janollari producing.

The hour-long project was described as a re-imagining of the long-running CBS series which starred Angela Lansbury. The series is described as, "a light, contemporary procedural in the vein of Bones or Fargo, it follows a hospital administrator and amateur sleuth (Spencer) who self-publishes her first mystery novel. Set in a day where sensational headlines inundate the news, this woman's avid fascination with true crime leads her to become an active participant in the investigations"

The original Murder, She Wrote garnered 12 Emmy nominations for Lansbury. The series premiered in 1984 and aired for 12 seasons, spawning four follow-up TV movies as well as a spinoff series, The Law & Harry McGraw. According to the report, the original theme music will likely remain in this latest incarnation.

Comment & Share

Related Links
NBC Sports Group Sets Final Tour de France CoverageNBC Sports Group Sets Final Tour de France Coverage
July 24, 2014
Scoop: RUNNING WILD WITH BEAR GRYLLS on NBC - Friday, August 8, 2014Scoop: RUNNING WILD WITH BEAR GRYLLS on NBC - Friday, August 8, 2014
by TV Scoop - July 24, 2014
Scoop: CROSSBONES on NBC - Saturday, August 2, 2014Scoop: CROSSBONES on NBC - Saturday, August 2, 2014
by TV Scoop - July 24, 2014
Scoop: CROSSBONES on NBC - Saturday, August 2, 2014Scoop: CROSSBONES on NBC - Saturday, August 2, 2014
by TV Scoop - July 24, 2014
Scoop: RUNNING WILD WITH BEAR GRYLLS on NBC - Friday, August 1, 2014Scoop: RUNNING WILD WITH BEAR GRYLLS on NBC - Friday, August 1, 2014
by TV Scoop - July 24, 2014


About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts

Become a Fan, Follower & Subscriber