tv.broadwayworld.com

CBS to Help Viewers Navigate NFL Overtime Programming Changes

Related: Sports, CBS

In an effort to further assist CBS's Sunday night viewers in navigating primetime series time changes due to NFL overruns, CBS will list the scheduled start times for its Sunday night series 30 minutes later in Eastern and Central Time zones on doubleheader weekends. The Network also unveiled a multi-platform upgrade to the CBS Eye-lert system, which informs viewers of any further adjusted start times.

In response to the history of primetime delays on doubleheader weekends and the NFL's recent announcement to move the kickoff time of the late afternoon games from 4:15 to 4:25 PM, ET, CBS will now list its lineup on NFL doubleheader Sundays as follows:
7:30 PM, ET/6:30 PM, CT -- 60 MINUTES
8:30 PM, ET/7:30 PM, CT -- BIG BROTHER 14 (through Sept. 23)

THE AMAZING RACE (as of Sept. 30)

9:30 PM, ET/8:30 PM, CT -- THE GOOD WIFE
10:30 PM, ET/9:30 PM, CT -- THE MENTALIST

The NFL on CBS's 2012 doubleheader Sundays are: Sept. 16 and 23; Oct. 7 and 21; Nov. 4 and 18; and Dec. 2, 16 and 30. The start times for Sunday primetime series in Mountain and Pacific Time zones will remain as previously scheduled on those dates.
Additionally, CBS has upgraded its Eye-lert system, which originally debuted in 2007 as a means of informing viewers of the delayed start times of CBS's Sunday night programs affected by football overruns.

Fans can now go to www.cbs.com/eye-lerts to sign up for SMS texts, Twitter tweets, Facebook updates and/or the previously established email alerts. Viewers who are already registered for alert emails through the previous system will continue to receive them unless they choose to unsubscribe.

Also, within a few weeks – prior to CBS's official premiere week (Sept. 24-30) – viewers will be able to sign up for SMS text Eye-lerts without having to go online by texting a short code directly from their mobile device to register. Details on this additional registration option will be announced in the coming weeks.

In addition to the Eye-lert updates, CBS will continue to aggressively use on-air graphics on Sunday nights to alert viewers to adjusted start times.

Related Links
But, Wait! What's Premiering This Week; September 21st-27th?But, Wait! What's Premiering This Week; September 21st-27th?
by Matt Tamanini - September 21, 2014
But, Wait! What's On TV Tonight? Sunday, September 21stBut, Wait! What's On TV Tonight? Sunday, September 21st
by BWW Staff - September 21, 2014
Scoop: DANCING WITH THE STARS on ABC - Monday, September 22, 2014Scoop: DANCING WITH THE STARS on ABC - Monday, September 22, 2014
by TV Scoop - September 19, 2014
CBS Orders Greg Berlanti's SUPERGIRL Straight to SeriesCBS Orders Greg Berlanti's SUPERGIRL Straight to Series
September 19, 2014
ABC to Team with Telecinco for Local Stations in Puerto RicoABC to Team with Telecinco for Local Stations in Puerto Rico
September 19, 2014


About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts

BLOGS
BWW Spoiler Alert!: The Clock Runs Out on Fan Favorite in 24: LIVE ANOTHER DAY Season FinaleSpoiler Alert!: Clock Runs Out for Fan Fave on 24: LIVE ANOTHER DAY Finale But, Wait! What's Premiering This Week; September 21st-27th?
But, Wait! What's Premiering This Week; September 21st-27th?
But, Wait! What's On TV Tonight? Sunday, September 21st 5:00pm-1:00am: BREAKING BAD | AMC

8:30-9:30pm: MADAM SECRETARY | CBS

9:30-10:30pm: THE GOOD WIFE | CBS

Click for Full Sunday 9/21 WHAT TO WATCH Info

Become a Fan, Follower & Subscriber