PET SHOP BOYS to Release New Album 'Electric' 7/15

April 30
1:34 2013
Related Links
Janet Jackson Set to Release New Album This FallJanet Jackson Set to Release New Album This Fall
June 03, 2015
Nile Rodgers with CHIC, Ride, Tiga and Lianne La Havas Join Flow Festival LineupNile Rodgers with CHIC, Ride, Tiga and Lianne La Havas Join Flow Festival Lineup
May 05, 2015
PET SHOP BOYS to Release New Album 'Electric' 7/15

On July 15th, Pet Shop Boys return in triumphant form with their new studio album 'Electric', the first to appear on their own label x2 (via Kobalt Label Services).

The album is the first Pet Shop Boys studio album to be produced by Stuart Price. Visit Stereogum for an extensive "Progress Report" interview with the duo -- along with the debut of the new track 'Axis' HERE.

In March this year, a teaser video for 'Electric' appeared online. The accompanying music, 'Axis', which is the album's opening track, is now available in full online and is here accompanied by a video (below): A Boys Noize remix of the track will follow.

'Electric' features nine tracks in total - eight brand new Pet Shop Boys' songs plus a cover of Bruce Springsteen's 'The Last To Die'. The result is as uncompromising a collection of dance anthems as Pet Shop Boys have ever made.

Pet Shop Boys said: "'Electric' is very much set on the dance floor. Our latest album often evolves as a response to our previous album and, whereas 'Elysium' had a reflective mood, 'Electric' is pretty banging! And working with Stuart Price on a studio album is something we have wanted to do for a very long time".

Stuart Price said: "Making 'Electric' was an exciting experience. We recorded it between Berlin, London and Los Angeles using various techniques between old school synth and drum machine programming and new school computer mangling. For me it was a chance to work with two people who shaped so much of my musical taste, yet who keep on pushing farther in both a natural and unexpected fashion. 'Disco' (from 1986) was an album that always spoke to me because it blended song arrangements with dance floor mixes, and that is what 'Electric' felt like to make. Allowing songs to be full length without considering the pop rules, disregarding classic structures and instead just working instinctively on what was fun and danceable."

Singer/rapper Example, who won a BRIT award last year for Best British Single, appears as a guest vocalist on the track 'Thursday'.

The track listing for 'Electric' is:

1. Axis

2. Bolshy

3. Love is a bourgeois construct

4. Fluorescent

5. Inside a dream

6. The last to die

7. Shouting in the evening

8. Thursday (featuring Example)

9. Vocal

As previously announced, Pet Shop Boys will embark on the 'Electric' tour in May this year. The tour is created in collaboration with Es Devlin (creative director/designer) and Lynne Page (stage director/choreographer), and has already received rave reviews when it debuted in Mexico in March. Tour dates, including the newly announced North American dates, are as follows:

13 May - Movistar Arena, Santiago, Chile

16 May - Luna Park, Buenos Aires, Argentina

18 May - Conmebol Bourbon Convention Center, Asunción, Paraguay

About Author

   Subscribe to Author Alerts


Become a Fan, Follower & Subscriber

           Facebook Like Follow