classical.broadwayworld.com

CUA Kicks Off Spring 2013 School of Music Performances

Opera: Gounod's Romeo et Juliette
The Voice Division presents Charles Gounod's classic opera Romeo et Juliette, sung in French with English surtitles. Performances will take place Thursday, Friday, and Saturday, March 14, 15, and 16, at 7:30 p.m., and Sunday, March 17, at 2 p.m. Featuring the CUA Symphony Orchestra, Adam Turner, conductor. Tickets will be available February 2013. Performances will be held at the Hartke Theatre.

Washington International Piano Series
A new series of performances by piano faculty and guest artists. All concerts will be performed on the new 9-ft. Steinway D concert grand in Ward Recital Hall.
Thursday, Feb. 28, 8 p.m.: Nikita Fitenko, piano
Thursday, March 21, 8 p.m.: Ralitza Patcheva, piano
Thursday, March 28, 8 p.m.: Thomas Mastroianni, piano
Thursday, April 4, 8 p.m.: Ivo Kaltchev, piano
Sunday, April 14, 3 p.m.: James Litzelman, piano
Thursday, April 18, 8 p.m.: Antonio Di Cristofano (Italy), Guest Artist Recital, piano
Sunday, April 21, 3 p.m.: Xun Pan (China, U.S.), Guest Artist Recital, piano professor, Millersville University, Millersville, Pa.
Sunday, April 28, 3: Jose Ramos Santana, piano

CUA Women's Chorus
The CUA Women's Chorus will perform Saturday, April 13, at 7:30 p.m., at St. Vincent De Paul Chapel. Kevin O'Brien, lecturer, will conduct.

CUA University Chorus
The CUA University Chorus will perform with the Brookewood School Choir and the Sanctuary Choir of St. Paul's United Methodist Church, Friday, April 19, at 8 p.m., at St. Paul's United Methodist Church, 10401 Armory Ave., Kensington, Md. N. Thomas Pedersen, clinical assistant professor and head of Musical Theatre Division, conductor.

CUA Town and Gown Community Chorus
The CUA Town and Gown Community Chorus will perform Friday, April 26, at 7:30 p.m., at St. Vincent De Paul Chapel. Kevin O'Brien, lecturer, conductor.

CUA University Singers and Chamber Choir Concert
The CUA University Singers and CUA Chamber Choir will perform Saturday, April 27, 7:30 p.m., at the Cathedral of St. Matthew the Apostle, 1725 Rhode Island Ave., N.W., Washington, D.C. Leo Nestor, Justine Bayard Ward Professor and director of the Institute of Sacred Music, conductor.

CUA Symphony Orchestra
The CUA Symphony Orchestra, conducted by David Searle, professor, will perform Monday, April 29, 7:30 p.m., at Hartke Theatre, 3801 Harewood Road, N.E. The performance will feature Strauss: Don Juan; Schumann: Symphony No. 3; Whitall: Northlands, with Tommi Hyytinen, French horn.

CUA Wind Ensemble
The CUA Wind Ensemble will perform on Tuesday, April 30, at 7:30 p.m., in the Edward J. Pryzbyla University Center Great Room, CUA campus. John Mitchell, conductor.


REVIEWS
BWW Reviews: Sorcery from DiDonato and English Concert at Carnegie Hall in Handel's ALCINABWW Reviews: Sorcery from DiDonato and English Concert at Carnegie Hall in Handel's ALCINA

Become a Fan, Follower & Subscriber

FROM THE EDITOR
BWW Reviews: THE NEW JERSEY SYMPHONY with VIOLINIST GIL SHAHAM at NJ PACBWW Reviews: THE NEW JERSEY SYMPHONY with VIOLINIST GIL SHAHAM at NJ PAC
by Peter Danish