The Episcopal Actors' Guild to Welcome ANNIE Lyricist Martin Charnin to Guild Hall, 1/23

The Episcopal Actors' Guild to Welcome ANNIE Lyricist Martin Charnin to Guild Hall, 1/23

On the evening of Thursday, January 23, The Episcopal Actors' Guild welcomes theatre legend Martin Charnin to Guild Hall, with 100 percent of the proceeds going to help local performers in need.

"The Anatomy of a Musical with Martin Charnin: Annie & So Much More", A Conversation with Annie lyricist Martin Charnin, is set for Thursday, January 23 at 7:00 pm at Guild Hall, 1 East 29th St., New York 10016 (b/w Fifth Ave. & Madison Ave.) (Trains: R/N at 28th St.; 6 at 28th St.). Cost: $10 (EAG members) - $15 (non-members). RSVP: (212) 685-2927 or Seating is very limited.

As the lyricist for Annie and countless other musicals, Martin Charnin has penned some of Broadway's most popular songs, including "Tomorrow" and "It's the Hard Knock Life." For this special event, Charnin sits down with theatrical producer Margot Astrachan (A Gentleman's Guild to Love & Murder) to discuss his career and the creative process behind his legendary work. A reception will follow.

All proceeds from this event will go to EAG's Emergency Aid & Relief Program, which helps professional actors facing financial crisis.

Martin Charnin began his theatrical career originating the role of Big Deal in West Side Story; during the run, he began writing lyrics, and his first composing partner was Mary Rodgers, with whom he wrote the musical Hot Spot. Subsequently, Charnin has been the director, lyricist, composer, librettist, producer or a combination of the aforementioned for over 85 theatrical productions including the international musical smash Annie and its sequel, Annie Warbucks, as well as two musicals composed by Richard Rodgers: Two by Two (1970, revised 2004) and I Remember Mama (1979). Charnin has received four Tony nominations, two Tony Awards, seven Grammy Awards, three Emmy Awards, three Gold Records, two Platinum records, six Drama Desk Awards, and a Peabody Award for Broadcasting. (taken from American Theatre Wing).

Photo Credit: Stephen Sorokoff

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts