AVENUE Q Articles
Click Here for More Articles on AVENUE Q...

NAMT Announces Complete Casts and Lineup for Songwriter Showcase; Hosted by de Jesus

The National Alliance for Musical Theatre (NAMT) and Executive Director Kathy Evans announced the directors and casts for the eight musicals being presented at its 20th Annual Festival of New Musicals at New World Stages (340 West 50th St) on Monday, October 20 and Tuesday, October 21, 2008.  Also, announced were the line-up for this year's Songwriter Showcase happening during the Festival.  www.namt.org


Directed by John Simpkins (SPF's The Black Suits)
Co-Hosted by Robin de Jesus (Tony Nominee- In The Heights)—[second co-host will be announced shortly]

Shows featured:

A SUPERHERO, Music & Lyrics by Jonathan Waller, Book by Marty Johnson

ADAM LIVES, by Rob Baumgartner
HAVING IT ALMOST, Music by John Kavanaugh, Book by David Goldsmith & Wendy Perelman, Lyrics by David Goldsmith

HOMEMADE FUSION, by Michael Kooman & Chris Dimond
HOSTAGE SONG- Music & Lyrics by Kyle Jarrow , Stories & Book by Clay McLeod Chapman

PEOPLE ARE WRONG- by Julia Greenberg and Robin Goldwasser
UNLOCK'D-Music by Derek Gregor, Book & Lyrics by Sam Carner
VICTOR WOO - Music & Lyrics by Kevin So, Book by Kevin Merritt

Performers will include:  Chris Anderson, David Driver, Raymond J. Lee (Mamma Mia!), Liz McCartney (Mamma Mia!), Sean McCourt (Mary Poppins), Lindsay Mendez (Grease), Patina Miller (Hair), Connie Petruk, Lauren Pritchard (Spring Awakening), Tricia Scott, Christopher Totten 


To commemorate their 20th Annual Festival of New Musicals, NAMT will celebrate with a benefit concert open to the public entitled, A Toast to 20! on Sunday, October 19th.  Tickets are now available to the public for $85 each and will feature Broadway luminaries performing songs from past Festival of New Musicals shows.  The concert will take place at Comix, 353 West 14th Street (at 9th Avenue) from 6:00 to 9:00 PM.  Hosted by Tony Award-winners Bob Martin and Beth Leavel (The Drowsy Chaperone, Festival 2004), A Toast to 20! will also feature performances by: Will Chase (High Fidelity), Gavin Creel (Tony Nominee - Thoroughly Modern Millie), Stephanie D'Abruzzo (Tony Nominee - Avenue Q), Ryan Driscoll (Summer of '42), Malcolm Gets (Tony Nominee - Amour), LaChanze (Tony Winner - The Color Purple), Lauren Kennedy (Sunset Boulevard), Lauren Pritchard (Spring Awakening), Robb Sapp (Wicked), Bobby Steggert (110 in the Shade) and more!  Music Direction by Lynne Shankel (Cry-bayb, Company, Altar Boyz).

Ticket prices:  Single Ticket are $85 each

VIP Table** for 4 people: $1,000 donation, Single VIP Ticket**: $300 donation, Single Donation Ticket: $250 donation, NAMT Member Ticket: $150 donation.  VIP and Donation Tickets include the concert, cocktails and hors d'oeuvres; and VIP ticket holders receive reserved seating and complimentary wine during the concert.

Tickets can be purchased by visiting  www.namt.org.

 For the New Musicals Festival, the directors and casts confirmed to date are:


Book & Lyrics by Cheryl Davis
Music by Douglas Cohen
Director: Jerry Dixon (original casts of Tick Tick BOOM!, Once on this Island)
Music Director: JoNathan Smith  (Swing!)
Cast:    Kenita Miller- Xanadu
Norm Lewis- The Little Mermaid
Tina Fabrique- Ragtime
Stu James- The Color Purple
C.E. Smith- The Full Monty
Glenn Turner- Five Guys Named Moe
Rema Webb- Lion King

Related Articles

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts