Click for More Articles on NEW YORK CITY...

Dramatists Guild of America Teams with Kyle Ewalt and Michael Ian Walker for DG Conservatory, 2/11

For the first DG Conservatory of the new year, the Dramatists Guild is thrilled to team up with the writers who created Behind the Music-al, Kyle Ewalt and Michael Ian Walker, on Tuesday, February 11, 2014, at 6:00 p.m. The event will take place at the Dramatists Guild's New York office, in the Frederick Loewe Room, 1501 Broadway (between 43rd and 44th Streets), Suite 710. This free seminar is opening a limited number of seats to the public and reservations are required.

Originally presented at 92YTribeca, Behind the Music-al is an exciting behind-the-scenes look at the next generation of musical theater composers. Special guests discuss how songwriting teams collaborate, showcase exclusive songs performed by some of Broadway's hottest young stars and dish about the back-story on your favorite musical numbers. Using a particular theme for each presentation, Behind the Music-al lets you in on the process of putting together tomorrow's next big hit. The theme for the February 11 session is Behind the Music-al Goes Behind Closed Doors.

In Behind the Music-al: Goes Behind Closed Doors, composer/lyricist Georgia Stitt will moderate a conversation about how emerging musical theater composers are exploring hidden worlds, and using the genre to give audiences a window into often obscure or closed off communities. What are the challenges a writer faces in researching and bringing a unique culture to life on the stage? What are the rewards of finding such a rare subject? Songwriters Rosser & Sohne, Stephanie Salzman & Deborah Brevoort, and Ewalt & Walker look at their latest projects, and how each strives to teach an audience about a world they may not be familiar with and create a compelling musical.

For reservations, e-mail To enter the building at 1501 Broadway, you will need to present photo ID. For further information, contact Tari Stratton at, or call (212) 398-9366, ext. 20.

If you are unable to attend this exciting event in person, Behind the Music-al will also be Livestreamed. Tune in to watch them LIVE. Visit:, and send any questions via Twitter at #newplay.

Participants bios: Georgia Stitt (moderator): Composer/Lyricist; wrote Big Red Sun (NAMT 2010, Arlen Award 2005 with John Jiler); The Water (with Jeff Hylton and Tim Werenko); The Danger Year (with Jamie Pachino); Mosaic (for Inner Voices with Cheri Steinkellner) and Samantha Spade: Ace Detective (for TADA! with Lisa Diana Shapiro). She has released three albums of her music: This Ordinary Thursday: The Songs Of Georgia Stitt, (2007), Alphabet City Cycle (2009) and My Lifelong Love (2011). Her songs and arrangements are represented on the solo albums of Susan Egan, Lauren Kennedy, Kate Baldwin, Robert Creighton, Stuart Matthew Price, Caroline Sheen, Daniel Boys, Kevin Odekirk and composer Sam Davis, as well as several Broadway Cares albums. Her choral piece with hope and virtue (using text from President Obama's 2009 inauguration speech) was featured on NPR as part of Judith Clurman's Dear Mister President cycle, and her orchestral piece, Waiting for Wings, co-written with husband Jason Robert Brown, was commissioned by the Cincinnati Pops Orchestra and premiered there in 2013 with conductor John Morris Russell. Georgia has degrees from Vanderbilt University's Blair School of Music and NYU's Tisch School for the Arts. She is on the theater faculty at Pace University and is the composer-in-residence at Pasadena Presbyterian Church.

Related Articles

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts