Click for More Articles on NEW YORK CITY...

Alan Gilbert Conducts NY Phil in Reprise of Lindberg's Piano Concerto No. 2 with Yefim Bronfman, Now thru 1/7

Music Director Alan Gilbert will lead the New York Philharmonic in a program that, for the first time, unites the Philharmonic's Artist-in-Residence and former and current Composers-in- Residence, two posts Alan Gilbert introduced at the beginning of his tenure. The program features The Marie-Jose Kravis Composer-in-Residence Christopher Rouse's Rapture; former Composer-in-Residence Magnus Lindberg's Piano Concerto No. 2, with The Mary and James G. Wallach Artist-in-Residence Yefim Bronfman as soloist; and Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 5, tonight, January 2, 2014, at 7:30 p.m.; Friday, January 3 at 8:00 p.m.; and Tuesday, January 7 at 7:30 p.m.

The Philharmonic performed Rapture once before, in October-November 2008, conducted by David Robertson. "It is meant to be a joyous, very life-affirming work," Christopher Rouse said. "I decided that the music would move gradually from incredible calm, tranquility, serenity, and a sense of enormous peace to extreme, wild, orgiastic ecstasy."

Yefim Bronfman and the Orchestra, led by Alan Gilbert, gave the World Premiere of Magnus Lindberg's Piano Concerto No. 2, which the Philharmonic co-commissioned and was composed for Mr. Bronfman, in May 2012; this performance is featured on a recent release on Dacapo Records. The New York Times wrote of the premiere: "

Mr. Bronfman is a pianist with comprehensive skills who can seemingly play anything.... He mastered every challenge: thick chords that leap across the keyboard; spiraling bursts of runs and sputtering arpeggios; cascades of double thirds; finger-twisting counterpoint ..."

"It was such a strong piece, a wonderful concerto, that everybody felt it should be repeated and should become part of the repertoire - and I'm convinced that it will. It needs and deserves a second hearing in the same city," Yefim Bronfman said. "I see a lot of things in this music that I have not seen before, which is a good sign. That's how music lives within a performer: every time you pick it up, it's fresh and you see other things in it.... I believe in it."

"I'm really glad that we're bringing back the Lindberg Piano Concerto No. 2 so soon after we first played it," Alan Gilbert said. "When we have a masterpiece, it's our responsibility to give it life, and this piece absolutely deserves to be in the repertoire."

Alan Gilbert and the Philharmonic will return to Long Island University's Tilles Center for the Performing Arts in Brookville, New York, on January 4, 2014, at 7:30 p.m., performing Christopher Rouse's Rapture; Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 1, featuring Yefim Bronfman as soloist; and Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 5.

Mr. Rouse's role as Composer-in-Residence began this season with performances of his Oboe Concerto, featuring Liang Wang and conducted by Alan Gilbert, November 14-16 and 19, 2013. Following the performances of Rapture, Alan Gilbert will lead Mr. Rouse's Requiem on May 5, 2014, to open the Spring For Music festival at Carnegie Hall, and the World Premiere of Mr. Rouse's New York Philharmonic-commissioned Symphony No. 4 on June 5-7, 2014, one of the highlights of the inaugural NY PHIL BIENNIAL.

Mr. Bronfman's residency will continue January 13, 2014, during CONTACT!, the Philharmonic's new-music series, with Yefim Bronfman and Friends when he will perform works by Marc Neikrug and Marc-Andre? Dalbavie with Philharmonic musicians at SubCulture.

Related Articles

Comment & Share

About Author

Subscribe to Author Alerts