Oxford Playhouse Hosts World Premiere of AFTER TROY Prior to UK Tour, 3/2

AFTER TROY, a contemporary and witty retelling of Euripides' Women of Troy and Hecuba, by award-winning poet and playwright Glyn Maxwell, will have its world premiere on 2 March 2011 at the Oxford Playhouse, followed by an extended run at London's Shaw Theatre, with a press night on 18 March, prior to a UK tour.

Four quarrelling women drawn together by grief...Three exhausted generals who hate each other's guts...A King who falls for a girl so mad she can see the audience...A teenage princess dreaming of the Underworld...And a lonely man of conscience trying to get it all down on paper...

A co-production with Lifeblood Theatre, The Onassis Programme and Oxford Playhouse, AFTER TROY stars Hannah Barrie as ‘Andromache', Iain Batchelor as ‘Kratos', Antony Byrne as ‘Agamemnon', Eve Matheson as ‘Hecuba', Amy Noble as ‘Polyxena', Oscar Pearce as ‘Talthybius', Rebecca Smith-Williams as ‘Cassandra' and Nicolas Tennant as ‘Mestor'.

AFTER TROY is directed by Alex Clifton, designed by Patrick Burnier, with music by Alex Silverman,
choreography by Kate Flatt, lighting design by Mike Gunning and sound design by Dominic Bilkey.

Performance Schedule:

Wednesday 2- Saturday 5 March
Oxford Playhouse
Beaumont Street, Oxford, UK, OX1 2LW
Box Office: 01865 305305
www.oxfordplayhouse.com

Wednesday 2 March: 7.30pm
Thursday 3 March: 2.30pm, 7.30pm
Friday 4 March: 8.00pm
Saturday 5 March: 2.30pm, 7.30pm

Wednesday 16 March-23 April
Shaw Theatre
100-110 Euston Road, London NW1 2A
For tickets call Ticketmaster on 0844 248 5057 or Groups 10+ 0844 844 2121
www.shaw-theatre.com

Monday to Saturday evenings at 7.45pm, 
2.30pm matinees on Wednesday and Saturdays with the following exceptions:

Wednesday 16 March: 7.45pm ONLY
Wednesday 30 March: 7.45pm ONLY
Thursday 31 March: 2.30pm, 7.45pm
Saturday 2 April: NO PERFORMANCE
Wednesday 6 April: 7.45pm ONLY
Thursday 7 April: 2.30pm, 7.45pm
Saturday 9 April: 7.45pm ONLY
Thursday 14 April: NO PERFORMANCE
Thursday 21 April: 2.30pm, 7.45pm

Wednesday 27-Saturday 30 April
Lowry Salford
Pier 8, Salford Quays, M50 3AZ
Box Office: 0843 208 6000
www.thelowry.com

Wednesday 27 April: 8.00pm
Thursday 28 April: 8.00pm
Friday 29 April: 8.00pm
Saturday 30 April: 2.30pm, 8.00pm

Tuesday 10-Saturday 14 May
Stephen Joseph Theatre
Westborough, Scarborough, YO11 1JW
Box Office: 01723 370541
www.sjt.uk.com

Tuesday 10 May: 7.30pm
Wednesday 11 May: 7.30pm
Thursday 12 May: 1.30pm, 7.30pm
Friday 13 May: 7.30pm
Saturday 14 May: 2.30pm, 7.30pm

 


Next on Stage


Related Articles View More UK Regional Stories   Shows


More Hot Stories For You