Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

The 2016 TBA Awards Celebration: Full Award Recipients & Celebration Photos


Theatre Bay Area announced the 2016 TBA Awards recipients at The 2016 TBA Awards Celebration on Monday, December 5 at A.C.T.'s Geary Theater.

The Awards Celebration was hosted by Chinaka Hodge and Reggie D. White in a festive evening honoring artistic achievement in Bay Area theatre. The evening's entertainment represented the expansive depth of Bay Area theatre, including performances from Bay Area Children's Theatre, Berkeley Playhouse, Lamplighters Music Theatre, San Francisco Mime Troupe, and a special performance from The Every 28 Hours Plays: a collection of one act plays inspired by the #BlackLivesMatter movement created and produced by Claudia Alick of the Oregon Shakespeare Festival (OSF), Dominic D'Andrea of The One-Minute Play Festival (1MPF), produced by FaultLine Theater in collaboration with A.C.T., Berkeley Repertory Theatre, Campo Santo, Crowded Fire Theater and Lorraine Hansberry Theatre.

This year, 75 awards were given to recipients out of a pool of over 372 finalists, generated by over 300 adjudicators who cast ballots for over 281 productions at 96 companies across three tiers based on operating budget and use of Actors' Equity Association (union) talent.

In addition, Theatre Bay Area, in partnership with the RHE Charitable Foundation, awarded The 2016 RHE Artistic Fellowship Award to activist and theatre practitioner, Sarita Ocón. The program, now in its third year, grants recipients $10,000 and a year-long mentorship with a veteran theatre artist as they focus on special avenues to advance their careers.

Finally, Theatre Bay Area presented three Legacy Awards to honor individuals for extraordinary contributions to the Bay Area theatre community: Robert Hurwitt, theatre practitioner and former San Francisco Chronicle critic; Cultural Odyssey's Co-Artistic Directors Idris Ackamoor and Rhodessa Jones; and late philanthropists Leigh and Ivy Robinson.

Click here for a full list of award recipients.

Click here for photos from the celebration.


Theatre Bay Area, now in its 40th year, is one of the largest and most respected regional performing arts service organizations in the nation. Its membership is drawn from 11 Bay Area counties and includes 300 theatre companies and some 2,100 individual artists. The Bay Area is home to one of the most dynamic theatre communities in the country; the region boasts more theatre companies per capita than any other metropolitan area in the United States, houses the third largest community of Equity (union) actors, and premieres some 200 new plays each year.

Theatre Bay Area's mission is to unite, strengthen, promote and advance the theatre community in the San Francisco Bay Area, working on behalf of our conviction that the performing arts are an essential public good, critical to a healthy and truly democratic society, and invaluable as a source of personal enrichment and growth.

Related Articles View More San Francisco Stories

Buy at the Theatre Shop

T-Shirts, Mugs, Phone Cases & More

More Hot Stories For You