Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Star Awards Honorees Announced By San Diego Performing Arts League For 25th Star Awards!

The San Diego Performing Arts League is pleased to announce that 41 volunteers from 31 local performing arts organizations have been selected to be honored this year at the 25th Star Awards on Saturday, February 2, 2019. The Star Awards honors volunteers of San Diego County performing arts organizations, and recognizes the indispensable role that volunteers play in the arts community. Each organization selects its own special volunteer to be recognized. These honored volunteers have donated countless hours to music, theater, dance and other cultural institutions in San Diego County.

The event will take place at the Irwin M Jacobs Qualcomm Hall in Sorrento Valley and will start with a reception and silent auction. Co-hosted by San Diego powerhouses Melinda Gilb and Steve Gunderson, the on-Stage Entertainment will be provided by area artistic directors. The program's focus is honoree recognition, and following the show, dessert and coffee will be served. Attendees are performers, crew, and staff from area venues and are a true who's who of the local arts scene. Tickets are $50 and $125 VIP and are available at, or by calling 858-437-9850.

This year's highest recognition, the "Standing Ovation Award," will be presented to Dea and Osborn Hurston. The Hurstons are arts advocates, patrons, volunteers and philanthropists whose work for decades has stretched out across many arts organizations. Their efforts have made an invaluable contribution to the San Diego community.

The 25th Star Awards Honorees are: Arts for Learning San Diego Roxanne Rojas de Blanco Arts for Learning San Diego Cathy Stephenson Beyond Babel Theater Luana Concepcion Choral Consortium of San Diego Katie Walders Classics 4 Kids Dr. Angela Wang, M.D. Coronado Island Film Festival Doug St Denis Coronado Playhouse Stan Soth Diversionary Theatre Carol Ann Flanagan

28 Horton Plaza San Diego, CA 92101 (858) 381-5595

Since 1983, the San Diego Performing Arts League has provided programs and services to help San Diego's performing arts community flourish

BOARD OF DIRECTORS D. Candis Paule, President Gary Kramer, Vice President/

Executive Director Sandra Simmons,

Secretary/Treasurer Cliff Boro Jay Henslee Dianne Lookabaugh Jacole Kitchen James Saba Ron Tov, Finance Committee Chair

CIVIC ADVISORY COUNCIL William Purves, Honorary Chair Frank Alessi Jack Berkman James Lewis Bowers, PhD Barbara Bry Dale Ganzow Sal Giametta Pat JaCoby Judy McDonald Toni Robin William Virchis Dal Watkins Alan Ziter


HONORARY CHAIRS Jay and Julie Sarno COMMITTEE Dianne Lookabaugh, Chair Kate Bower Jodie Graber Deborah Pantoni D. Candis Paule Doris Schmied Sandra L. Simmons

Finest City Improv Skyler Lee Horton Plaza Theatres Foundation Suzanne Varco La Jolla Playhouse La Jolla Playhouse Partners Lamplighters Community Theatre Kate Fogle Looking Glass Theatre Michael Collier Looking Glass Theatre Crystalinda White Malashock Dance & Company Patricia O'Connor Moxie Elizabeth Corrow North Coast Repertory Theatre Linda Watts PASACAT - Philippine Perf. Arts Company Michael A. Estela PASACAT - Philippine Perf. Arts Company Ana "Pinky" Abitan Tordilla Playwrights Project Gene Summ PowPAC, Poway's Community Theatre Gail Matson Samahan Filipino American Performing

Arts & Education Center, Inc. Juanita F. Caccam, PH.D. San Diego Junior Theatre Mary Adsit San Diego Junior Theatre Elizabeth Castiglione San Diego Master Chorale Judy Mowers San Diego Opera Barbara Carlton San Diego Performing Arts League Susan Mason San Diego Repertory Theatre Larry Alldredge & Dawn Moore San Diego Shakespeare Society Gordon Gidlund Scripps Ranch Theatre Gwenmarie Hilleary STAR Repertory Theatre Peter Dame Teatro Mascara Magica Ron Baza Teatro Mascara Magica Timothy Evans Teatro Mascara Magica Rhys Green Teatro Mascara Magica Leo Sandoval The Old Globe Kim Neapole the roustabouts theatre co. Deborah Pantoni the roustabouts theatre co. Julie Ustin Trinity Theatre Company Richard Costantinou Trinity Theatre Company Sharonfaith Horton

Who: San Diego Performing Arts League What: 25th Star Awards - Honoring Volunteers Who Inspire By Example Where: Irwin M Jacobs Qualcomm Hall 5775 Morehouse Drive, San Diego 92121 When: Saturday, February 2, 2019, at 7:00 pm, tickets are $50-$125 How: Call 858-437-9850 or buy tickets online at

In business since 1983, the San Diego Performing Arts League is a membership-based arts- service umbrella organization comprised of local performing arts organizations, and is dedicated to supporting and promoting the region's performing arts. SDPAL operates the ArtsTix ticket center in Horton Plaza Park, as well as the online SDArtsTix website. ArtsTix is the only not-for- profit ticket vendor in San Diego County and supports local performing arts groups by selling discount and full-price tickets. San Diego Theatre Week is another program of SDPAL, along with an on-line performing arts directory for cast and crew throughout the region.

Related Articles View More San Diego Stories

More Hot Stories For You