San Diego Performing Arts League To Present the 25th Star Awards

Article Pixel

San Diego Performing Arts League To Present the 25th Star Awards

On Saturday, February 2, 2019, the San Diego Performing Arts League is proud to present the 25th Star Awards honoring outstanding volunteers in the performing arts. Individuals representing over 40 arts companies will be honored for volunteering nearly 200,000 hours to the arts.

The event will take place at the Irwin M Jacobs Qualcomm Hall in Sorrento Valley and will start with a reception and silent auction. Co-hosted by San Diego powerhouses Melinda Gilb and Steve Gunderson, the on-Stage Entertainment will be provided by area artistic directors. The program's focus is honoree recognition, and following the show, dessert and coffee will be served. Attendees are performers, crew, and staff from area venues and are a true who's who of the local arts scene. Tickets are $50 and are available at, or by calling 858-437-9850.

Star Awards recognizes the crucial role that volunteers play. These honored volunteers, who contribute countless hours of their time to music, dance, and theatre companies throughout San Diego County, are crucial to making our arts community thrive. From doing office work to ushering, to helping create costumes, they assist wherever needed to help make our shows happen - all behind the scenes.

This year's highest recognition, the "Standing Ovation Award," will be presented to Dea and Osborn Hurston. The Hurstons are arts advocates, patrons, volunteers and philanthropists whose work for decades has stretched out across many arts organizations. Their efforts have made an invaluable contribution to the San Diego community.

Osborn currently serves as a Trustee for the La Jolla Playhouse, the Naval Training Center Foundation, and the Balboa Art Conservation Center. He is also a past President of the San Diego Performing Arts League Board. His volunteerism extends well beyond the arts to service on the Investment Committee of the San Diego Zoo and on the Boards of Inewsource, the City of San Diego Retirement Board and the County of San Diego Retirement Board.

Related Articles View More San Diego Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You