National Black Theatre to Host 2014 TEER Spirit Awards Gala, 6/18

National Black Theatre to Host 2014 TEER Spirit Awards Gala, 6/18

On Founder's Day, Dr. Barbara Ann Teer's National Black Theatre's (NBT) will host TEER Spirit Awards Gala to celebrate nine remarkable people in its community: Susan L. Taylor, Ruben Santiago-Hudson, Sonia Sanchez, Keith Josef Adkins, Pastor Michael A. Walrond, Rev. Dr. Iris J. Banister, Marjorie Moon, James Haughton, and William L. Strickland. The gala takes place on Wednesday, June 18, 2013 at 6:00PM.

The event is being co-hosted by Johnnie Mae Allen & Thaddeus Daniels. Mr. Bert Price, musical director of NBT's House Band, will provide live entertainment with Carol Maillard of Sweet Honey In the Rock, a theatrical excerpt from Facing Our Truth featuring C. Kelly Wright, and a dance tribute performance by Dyane Harvey-Salaam.

"This year's TEER Spirit Awards is an extraordinary opportunity for National Black Theatre to honor and celebrate instrumental members of our community! National Black Theatre is helping to Keep Soul Alive by celebrating the work these individuals do day in and day out" reports Sade Lythcott, CEO of National Black Theatre.

The TEER Spirit Awards were inaugurated in 2008 after the passing of the founder of the National Black Theatre, Dr. Barbara Ann Teer. The awards were created in honor and recognition of the contribution of three leaders and pioneers within National Black Theatre's history: Dr. Barbara Ann Teer [Susan L. Taylor, recipient] who founded the National Black Theatre in 1968 and whose vision is the foundation on which National Black Theatre stands, Adetunde Samuel [Marjorie Moon and Ruben Santiago-Hudson, recipients], a charismatic producer that headed NBT's award winning Theatre Arts Program, and Fredrica L. Teer [Pastor Michael A. Walrond and Rev. Dr. Iris J. Banister, recipients] who as an institution builder conceived and organized the foundation that made the idea of National Black Theatre a reality. Outside of these awards, National Black Theatre honors Pioneers [Sonia Sanchez, James Haughton and William Strickland, recipients] in the field of Culture, Art and History. And for the first time this year, will give the Trailblazer Award [Keith Josef Adkins, recipient] to a visionary and catalyst creating new possibilities for artistic expression.

June 18th is the birth date of Dr. Barbara Ann Teer and is called Founder's Day. The event also begins the celebration of National Black Theatre's 46th year of serving the community. Admission for the award ceremony is $150 per person and $1,500 for a table of 10 people, and includes a cocktail reception, silent auction, banquet dinner and a musically charged evening inside NBT's historical landmark home on Fifth Avenue.

Tickets are on sale now. To charge by phone, or for additional information on the Fifth Annual TEER Spirit Awards, call 212-722-3800 or visit Seating is limited.

Related Articles

Off-Off-Broadway THEATER Stories | Shows

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...