HERE's 25TH BIRTHDAY PARTY Will Feature 25 Artists Performing Throughout Entire Building

HERE's 25TH BIRTHDAY PARTY Will Feature 25 Artists Performing Throughout Entire Building

In 1993, HERE barged into Soho and threw one hell of a party. It's been 25 years and the world has changed, but the OBIE-winning producer and presenter is still HERE. On October 29, HERE's Board of Directors, Founding Artistic Director Kristin Marting, and staff will honor the institution's quarter-century milestone in true HERE fashion: a wild party teeming with delicious food, strong drinks, and performances by 25 of HERE's favorite artists of all time.

They include The Apple Boys, Christina Campanella, Mallory Catlett, Steven Cheslik-deMeyer, Leah Coloff, Lisa D'Amour, Stephanie Fleischmann, Robin Frohardt, Abigail Gampel, Young Jean Lee, Trey Lyford, Tim Maner, Mariana Newhard, Aya Ogawa, Katie Pearl, Laura Peterson, Kamala Sankaram, James Scruggs, Lipica Shah, Geoff Sobelle, Alan Stevens Hewitt, Amanda Szeglowski/cakeface, Hanne Tierney, Tigger!, and Bora Yoon.

HERE's 25th Birthday Party begins at7pm with performances in both theaters. Cocktails and food will be served throughout the evening. At 6pm, HERE will host a special benefit reception to celebrate the next 25 years of audacious programming and to toast outgoing Executive Director, Kim Whitener. A dance party to end all HERE dance parties begins at 10pm.

HERE is located at 145 Sixth Avenue, just below Spring Street. Tickets, priced at $25 for7pm entrance and $125 for early access at 6pm, are currently on sale and can be purchased by calling 212-352-3101 or visiting

About HERE

The OBIE-winning HERE (Kristin Marting, Founding Artistic Director) was named a Top Ten Off-Off Broadway Theatre by Time Out New York, is a leader in the field of producing and presenting new, hybrid performance viewed as a seamless integration of artistic disciplines-theater, dance, music and opera, puppetry, media, visual and installation, spoken word and performance art.

Standout productions include Eve Ensler'sThe Vagina Monologues, Basil Twist's Symphonie Fantastique and Arias with a Twist, Trey Lyford & Geoff Sobelle's all wear bowlers, Young Jean Lee's Songs of the Dragons Flying to Heaven, James Scruggs Disposable Men, Corey Dargel's Removable Parts, Taylor Mac's The Lily's Revenge, Kamala Sankaram's Miranda and Robin Frohardt's The Pigeoning, among many others. In 2008, following an extensive renovation, HERE re-opened the doors to its long-time downtown home for the arts, where it continues as a vibrant, welcoming haven for artists and audiences alike.

HERE is also recognized nationally and internationally for the annual PROTOTYPE festival of opera-theatre and music-theatre, co-founded in 2013 and co-produced with Beth Morrison Projects, through which HERE commissions, develops, produces, and presents new 21st century works in that genre; and the Dream Music Puppetry Program, founded in 1998 with the premiere of Basil Twist'sSymphonie Fantastique, and co-curated and co-produced with Twist and HERE co-founder, Barbara Busackino.

Since its founding in 1993, HERE and the artists it has supported have received 18 Obies, 2 Bessies, 5 Drama Desk Nominations, 2 Pulitzer Prizes, 4 Doris Duke Awards, and 2 MacArthur Fellowships.

Related Articles View More Off-Off-Broadway Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram