Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Encompass New Opera Theatre to Honor Laura Benanti and Bartlett Sher


Encompass New Opera Theatre to Honor Laura Benanti and Bartlett Sher

On Sunday, March 31st, Encompass New Opera Theatre (Nancy Rhodes, Artistic Director), The Board of Trustees and The Encompass Honorary Gala Chairs, Sheldon Harnick and Maury Yeston will pay tribute to Tony Award-winning luminaries, Laura Benanti AND Bartlett Sher, with a star-studded musical salute. The elegant evening - hosted by Midge Woolsey of Thirteen/WNET and WQXR Radio - will feature recollections and tributes by well-known Musical Theatre and Opera personalities and friends from the Music Theatre and Opera world. Dazzling musical entertainment will feature stars of stage and screen. Beth Ertz is the Music Director/Arranger/Pianist and Jay Leonhart will perform on Bass. Michael A. Kerker of ASCAP and Nancy Rhodes of Encompass will co-produce. The 2019 Gala Chairs are Daniel J. De Siena, Casey McNamara, and Harriet Slaughter.

Sheldon Harnick to present Laura Benanti with the Sheldon Harnick Award for Creative Excellence and Bartlett Sher with Outstanding Lifetime Achievement in the American Theatre, Musical Theatre and Opera.

The Encompass Musical Salute will take place at The National Arts Club (15 Gramercy Park South, New York, NY, 10003) on Sunday, March 31st, starting at 6:00 PM with a Cocktail & Hors d'oeuvres Reception, the Musical Program at 7:00 PM, followed by a Champagne & Dessert Party. Gala tickets are $600. Early-bird Special of two tickets for $1,000, through March 18th. To buy tickets, to place a congratulatory Ad in the program, or for more information, visit or call (718) 398-4675.

This is the 15th year for the Encompass Gala Musical Salute. According to Michael Portantiere, who reviewed our Encompass Gala event for Broadway Radio: "They always do incredible tributes at Encompass New Opera Theatre...They're singular events because ...this is such an intimate situation. It's a beautiful space ... and you really get the opportunity to talk to everyone, including the artists who perform."

Past honorees include Sheldon Harnick (both for his 80th and his 90th Birthdays), John Kander, Charles Strouse, Jerry Herman, Jerry Bock, Maury Yeston, Joseph Stein, Richard Maltby, Jr., David Shire, John Weidman, Marvin Hamlisch, Alan Menken, Joel Grey, Jeanine Tesori, Barbara Cook, Lee Adams, Lynn Ahrens, Stephen Flaherty, Terrence McNally, and Christine Ebersole.

Photo Credit: Walter McBride / WM Photos

Related Articles View More Off-Off-Broadway Stories

Buy at the Theatre Shop

T-Shirts, Mugs, Phone Cases & More

More Hot Stories For You