Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Review: ROMEO AND JULIET Virtually With Grand Rapids Symphony and Grand Rapids Ballet.

A special kick off show in Pathwaves, a virtual season not to be missed!

Review: ROMEO AND JULIET Virtually With Grand Rapids Symphony and Grand Rapids Ballet.
Credit: Larissa Fall

Grand Rapids Symphony presents Romeo and Juliet, the first of three new shows in the 2020 Season. Pathwaves presented by SpartanNash, is the Symphony's reimagined 2020-2021 artistic seasons. For the 2020 part of the season they are sharing the gift of music with the West Michigan community through a dynamic and innovative season of concerts, delivered via live stream. The new Pathwaves series includes varied styles of music and diverse composers, like waves of hope leading us down our community's path of healing.

We start out very appropriately with a brass group and small but mighty two person percussion section playing "The Stars Spangled Banner". The string section and a single horn are next to perform along with dancers from Grand Rapids Ballet the classical piece "Ave Maria", followed by the string section for "Coqueteos" from Leyendas to finish off the first act of the program.

Since the show is virtual and intermission free, we have a special interlude performance featuring a special guest instrument that I've never seen or heard in a symphony season. Played solo on an accordion and featuring dancers from Grand Rapids ballet, "La Cumparsita" (Rodríguez).

The second act starts with two very special pieces, "Andante Cantabile" played by the strings with a special featured solo cello, which I enjoyed very much. Following the piece a solo violinist comes out and plays "Melodie" from Op. 42 completely from memory, along with the strings. This stuck out as something I remember since it was a longer piece and playing from memory is always something that amazes me in a larger music repertoire.

Review: ROMEO AND JULIET Virtually With Grand Rapids Symphony and Grand Rapids Ballet.
Sarah Marley and Nathan Young
Credit: Scott Rasmussen

For the finale performance of the night the Grand Rapids Symphony and Grand Rapids Ballet present an abridged, 20 min summarized version of Romeo and Juliet (Overture- fantasy) featuring strings, woodwinds, percussion, and limited brass from Grand Rapids symphony with a group of six dancers from Grand Rapids Ballet. The dancing was beautifully choreographed and played magnificently for the whole event.

I love that although virtual, the performance started right on the 7:30 PM marker and didn't have any flaws on the streaming and had really good quality audio. For that "social distancing" I had wondered about it was done on 2 sound type stages built on the arena floor, with multiple white drapes behind them that were lit based on mood and musical number. For the safety part of the orchestra and dancers, the brass were behind individual shields due to the nature of the air blowing out the instrument, and every one else was masked up. There also were fewer instruments than traditionally and they had parts of the performances specifically written to accommodate for this reason. Fewer instruments means safety in mind by allowing space between instruments. The sound was great with every one playing together even with not being close, and you would have thought that they were under the acoustic shell back at the other venues siting right next to another where you could hear each other.

If you missed out on this great hour of music and ballet, I would highly recommend checking out the Symphony's remaining Virtual shows, including: Mosaic Motion October 16, 2020, Marcelo Plays and Conducts October 23 and 24, 2020, Voice and the Violin featuring Joshua Bell Friday, November 13 and 14, 2020, A New World: Intimate Music From Final Fantasy November 20, 2020, and Metro Health Holiday Pops December 4 and 5, 2020.

The Grand Rapids Ballets virtual season: Business as (Un)usual November 13- 15, 2020, The Nutcracker Experience with music From the Grand Rapids Symphony December 18-27, 2020, Collective Force March 2021 dates TBD, and Jumpstart: on Film April 2020 dates TBD.

Individual tickets as well as subscriptions for the Pathwaves Series are available online at GRSymphony.org/pathwaves.

For complete and up to date season information connect with Grand Rapids Symphony online at grsymphony.org, on Twitter at @grsymphony, on Facebook at facebook.com/grsymphony, and on Instagram at @grsymphony.

For information on the Grand Rapids Ballet season connect with Grand Rapids Ballet online at grballet.com, on Twitter at @grapidsballet on Facebook at facebook.com/grballet, and on Instagram at @grapidsballet.




From This Author - Brian Hilbrand

Brian Hilbrand's interest in musicals started when we watched Sound of Music, and his mom and her parents were musical.  He started school musicals in lower el... (read more about this author)


Interview: Ron Jenkins and Avery Mills of CINDERELLA at Lionheart ProductionsInterview: Ron Jenkins and Avery Mills of CINDERELLA at Lionheart Productions
October 30, 2022

Rodgers + Hammerstein's Cinderella opens at the Grant Fine Arts Center this week, bringing back Lion Heart Productions’ first large-cast musical since Mamma Mia! In 2019.  The show is running 2 weekends, through November 12th, and is the new Broadway adaptation of the classic musical. This contemporary take on the classic tale features Rodgers & Hammerstein's most beloved songs, including “In My Own Little Corner,” “Impossible/It's Possible” and “Ten Minutes Ago”.   BroadwayWorld Michigan had a chance to speak with Director Ron Jenkins and one of the show's stars, Avery Mills playing Ella, about the delightful holiday comedy. Enjoy our chat and their fun answers to get you excited for the performance tonight and in the coming weeks!

Review: Grand Rapids Symphony Season Opens With Beethovens-Fifth, Sarah Change, and The World Premier of Immortal Beloved!Review: Grand Rapids Symphony Season Opens With Beethovens-Fifth, Sarah Change, and The World Premier of Immortal Beloved!
September 28, 2022

What did our critic think of: Grand Rapids Symphony Season Opens With Beethovens-Fifth, Sarah Change, and The World Premier of Immortal Beloved! I was fortunate enough to kick off another season with the Grand Rapids Symphony. The 2022-2023 season marked the anniversary season conducted by Marcelo Lehninger, the symphony presented Beethoven’s 5th Symphony, Brunch Violin Concerto No. 1 with special guest Sarah Chang.  They also presented the world premiere of Immortal Beloved, a piece composed by Grand Rapids Symphony musician oboist Alexander L. Miller.

BWW Review: MOTHERHOOD THE MUSICAL at Lion Heart ProductionsBWW Review: MOTHERHOOD THE MUSICAL at Lion Heart Productions
May 7, 2022

Lion Heart Production’s Motherhood The Musical, written by Sue Fabisch is a musical about how having a baby is just the beginning and how motherhood is for life. Motherhood is a funny, yet loving look at being a mom at any age. It’s climbing the emotional mountain only to find that there’s laundry at the top. Making its Grant stage debut, Motherhood The Musical is playing at the Grant Public Schools Fine Arts Center in Grant, Michigan Mothers Day weekend Friday, May 6th, and Saturday, May 7th

BWW Interview: Theresa  Thomas of ELEVEN MONTHS OF NUCLEAR SUMMER at DeBartolo Performing Arts Center At University Of Notre DameBWW Interview: Theresa Thomas of ELEVEN MONTHS OF NUCLEAR SUMMER at DeBartolo Performing Arts Center At University Of Notre Dame
March 29, 2022

Eleven Months of Nuclear Summer is running from April 1st through April 3rd at the DeBartolo Performing Arts Center, located on the campus of The University of Notre Dame. In an original play written by Sophie McIntosh, the staff is just starting to settle into their roles at Camp Aster when an unfortunately-timed nuclear apocalypse derails their summer plans and strands them in the Maine wilderness. As the months wear on and the hope of rescue grows slimmer, camp director Dawn and her team of young employees must fight for survival while navigating interpersonal relationships, decision-making responsibilities, and disaster after endless disaster. This is the world premiere of this show and it is an all-women's cast featuring original music and underscores. We had a chance to interview one of the cast members from the show and here’s what she shared with us.

BWW Interview: Janie Minchella and Alan Ellias of 'LOVE, LOSS, AND WHAT I WORE'  at St. Dunstan's At Cranbrook Playhouse.BWW Interview: Janie Minchella and Alan Ellias of 'LOVE, LOSS, AND WHAT I WORE' at St. Dunstan's At Cranbrook Playhouse.
March 16, 2022

'Love, Loss, and What I Wore'  is playing through March 18th- April 2nd at St. Dunstan’s at Cranbrook Playhouse.  Written by Nora and Delia Ephron of You’ve Got Mail and Sleepless in Seattle, this play is like a heart-to-heart with a dear friend over coffee (or wine). Funny. Poignant. Heartfelt. Profound. Perfect for a Girls Night Out.  Broadway World Detroit had a chance to talk recently to one of the actresses from the show and the director about their production and why you will not want to miss this show 2 years after it was originally scheduled and what it means to them now.