WIN Honors Elizabeth Taylor and Suzanne Fleisher Roberts

By: Dec. 06, 2010
Get Access To Every Broadway Story

Unlock access to every one of the hundreds of articles published daily on BroadwayWorld by logging in with one click.

Existing user? Just click login.

Women's Image Network (WIN), will bestow its Living Legend Award to ElizaBeth Taylor and  its Lifetime Achievement Award to Suzanne Fleisher Roberts at The WIN Awards 2010 ceremony on Tuesday, January 18th, 2011 at the Broad Stage in Santa Monica, California.

Since 1993, the non-profit Women's Image Network (WIN) has promoted positive public opinion about the value of women and girls. Best known for producing the ABC Primetime special 50 Years of Funny Females and its annual event, The WIN Awards show, WIN celebrates those who promote gender parity through their creativity and leadership.

Its founder Phyllis Stuart, says "WIN could not find more deserving 2010 WIN Award honorees than Suzanne Roberts and ElizaBeth Taylor. While the world has long applauded Ms. Taylor for her artistic genius and her HIV/AIDS activism, all of Philadelphia knows that Suzanne Fleisher Roberts is an astoundingly generous art patron and artist".

Suzanne Robert's tireless commitment to the arts, philanthropy and leadership reflects Women's Image Network's mission to support artists who possess both passion and compassion and who use their gifts to change the world. Ninety years old and unstoppable Roberts has spent her life applying her talent and creativity for others. Roberts is now launching a series Exploring the Arts on her cable television show Seeking Solutions With Suzanne.

Dame ElizaBeth Taylor starred in over fifty-five films like National Velvet, A Place in the Sun, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof, Butterfield 8, Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? and Cleopatra.  A leader in AIDS activism, Taylor played a founding role in the creation of the American Foundation for AIDS Research (amfAR) and then founded ETAF: The ElizaBeth Taylor AIDS Foundation.

Moreover, The WIN Awards also present awards to thirteen competing film and television nominees. The nominees include Temple Grandin, Glee, Made In Dagenham, Secretariat and actors Diane Lane, Sally Hawkins, Jennifer Aniston, Maggie Smith, Jane Lynch, Susan Sarandon and Selena Gomez.

According to Stuart, "The WIN Awards underscore the importance of women achieving parity and if women and girls are well portrayed soon they all may be well-treated. For tickets, WIN graciously welcomes support, please email or call 310-229-5365.

Photo Credit: Walter McBride/WM Photos


To post a comment, you must register and login.