Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle Announces Winners For Theatrical Achievement In 2016

The Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle announced the recipients of its 48th annual awards for distinguished achievement in theatre tonight, Monday, March 20, at the Colony Theatre in Burbank.

Four 2016 productions received plaques: A Gentleman's Guide to Love & Murder at the Ahmanson Theatre; Cloud 9 at Antaeus Theatre Company; Disgraced at the Mark Taper Forum; and The Boy from Oz at Celebration Theatre.

The LADCC also presented the inaugural Gordon Davidson Award for Distinguished Contribution to the Los Angeles Theatrical Community to the Pro99 movement. Family members of the late Gordon Davidson, in whose honor the award is named, attended the ceremony.

Wenzel Jones presided over the festivities, and Corey Hirsch served as music director.

A complete list of award recipients is as follows:


McCulloh Award for Revival (plays written between 1920 and 1991)

Lead Performance

Ensemble Performance

Solo Performance

  • Deborah Puette, Captain of the Bible Quiz Team, Rogue Machine Theatre.



Musical Score

Music Direction


Set Design

CGI/Video Design

Lighting Design

Costume Design

Sound Design

Specialty: Fight Choreography

  • Jen Albert, Punch and Judy, The School of Night, Ruby Theater at the Complex.

Specialty: Wigs, Hair and Makeup

The following special award winners were previously announced:

2016 Margaret Harford Award for sustained excellence in theatre

  • Antaeus Theatre Company.

2016 Polly Warfield Award for an excellent season in a small to mid-size theatre

  • Rogue Machine Theatre.

2016 Ted Schmitt Award for the world premiere of an outstanding new play

2016 Kinetic Lighting Award for outstanding achievement in theatrical design

  • Jared A. Sayeg.

2016 Joel Hirschhorn Award for outstanding achievement in musical theatre

  • Cabrillo Music Theatre.

2016 Milton Katselas Award for career or special achievement in direction

  • Maria Gobetti.

2016 Gordon Davidson Award for distinguished contribution to the Los Angeles theatrical community

  • Pro99.

The Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle was founded in 1969. It is dedicated to excellence in theatrical criticism, and to the encouragement and improvement of theatre in Greater Los Angeles. The 2016 membership consisted of:

Pauline Adamek, ArtsBeatLA.com, Stage Raw

Paul Birchall, Stage Raw

Katie Buenneke, L.A. Weekly

Lovell Estell III, Stage Raw

Shirle Gottlieb, Gazette Newspapers, StageHappenings.com

Margaret Gray, Los Angeles Times

Hoyt Hilsman, The Huffington Post

Deborah Klugman, ArtsBeatLA.com, Stage Raw, LA Weekly

Jenny Lower, Stage Raw, LA Weekly

Jon Magaril, CurtainUp.com

Dany Margolies, ArtsInLA.com, Southern California News Group

Myron Meisel, Stage Raw

Terry Morgan, Stage Raw, TalkinBroadway.com

Steven Leigh Morris, Stage Raw, LA Weekly

David C. Nichols, Los Angeles Times

Melinda Schupmann, ShowMag.com, ArtsInLA.com

Jonas Schwartz-Owen, Theatermania.com, ArtsInLA.com

Don Shirley, LA Observed

Les Spindle, EDGE LA

Bob Verini, Variety, ArtsInLA.com, Stage Raw

NeAl Weaver, Stage Raw

Next on Stage

Related Articles View More Los Angeles Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You