Kentwood Players Announces 2011-2012 Marcom Masque Award Winners

Kentwood Players Announces 2011-2012 Marcom Masque Award Winners

Kentwood Players was founded in 1949 by Jan and Arky Marcom. At the end of each Kentwood Players season, all Kentwood Players members in good standing who have seen all six shows vote by secret ballot and then the group presents our annual Marcom Masque Awards to the winners in each category at an entertainment-filled dinner ceremony. The first Marcom Masque Awards were presented for the 1957-1958 season with “Cat on a Hot Tin Roof” winning the award for Best Play.

For the 2011-2012 season, every cast member and technical designer for each show of the season (Squabbles, Bus Stop, Candide, Hollywood Arms, Rabbit Hole, and Oliver!) was nominated for a Marcom Masque Award in appropriate categories. This year's Marcom Masque Dinner and Awards Ceremony was held on Saturday, June 23 at the Four Points by Sheraton Hotel in Culver City. The event chairpersons were Shari Barrett and Linda Reinhardt, with Susan Goldman Weisbarth and Scott Martin directing the entertainment portion of the event. Calia Mintzer-Wolf managed the guest list and Jayne Hamil was the event’s Mistress of Ceremony assisted by Gail Bernardi.

Kentwood Players is pleased to announce the winners of our 2011-2012 Marcom Masque Awards:

Best Play: Oliver!

Director: Harold Dershimer for Oliver!

Producer: Rocky and Victoria Miller for Oliver!

Actor in a Leading Role: Ben Lupejkis as Fagin in Oliver!

Actress in a Leading Role: Elizabeth A. Bouton as Nancy in Oliver!

Major Supporting Actor: Logan Gould as Artful Dodger in Oliver!

Major Supporting Actress: Patricia Butler as Widow Corney in Oliver!

Minor Supporting Actor: Kenny Allen as Jason in Rabbit Hole

Minor Supporting Actress: (Tie) Valerie Ruel as Dixie in Hollywood Arms

Jennifer Richardson as Bet in Oliver!

Minor Role Actor: Shawn K. Summerer as Knife Grinder/Ensemble in Oliver!

Minor Role Actress: (Tie) Deborah Ishida as Mrs. Fisher in Squabbles

Candace Courtney as Rose Seller/Ensemble in Oliver!

Set Design: Michael Allen for Oliver!

Set Decoration Design: Jim Crawford for Rabbit Hole

Lighting Design: Robert Davis for Oliver!

Sound Design: Catherine Rahm for Candide

Original Graphic Design: Anita George for Candide

Costume Design: Kathy Dershimer and Jayne Hamil for Candide

Special Board Awards are given in recognition of service to Kentwood Players by its Board of Directors to deserving members of the group, and the award is given as a surprise to the recipient at the Marcom Masque Awards ceremony. This year the Kentwood Players Board of Directors presented a Special Board Award to Russell Ham, the group’s House Manager, for his dedication, hard work, and volunteer service to the group. When anything needs fixing at the Westchester Playhouse, it is Russell who comes to the rescue!

For more information about Kentwood Players including our production of John Patrick Shanley “Doubt, A Parable” opening July 13, directed by Gail Bernardi, upcoming auditions on July 14 and 15 for “Scream Queens – The Musical” written and directed by Scott Martin, and our Kentwood Kids Children’s Theatre program, please visit the Kentwood Players website at or the Kentwood Players page on Facebook.

Related Articles

Los Angeles THEATER Stories | Shows  Like BWW LA  Follow BWW LA

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...