2018-19 Winners Of Jonathan Larson Grants Announced, Will Perform At Adelphi Performing Arts Center

2018-19 Winners Of Jonathan Larson Grants Announced, Will Perform At Adelphi Performing Arts Center

The American Theatre Wing has announced recipients of the prestigious 2019 Jonathan Larson '82 Grants: Julia Gytri & Avi Amon (book, music and lyrics), Emily Gardner Xu Hall (book, music and lyrics), Andy Roninson (music and lyrics) and Ben Wexler (music and lyrics) All will receive grants of $10,000, as well as additional support in the form of residences, concerts and recording grants, valued at over $50,000.

Three of this year's recipients, Roninson and Gytri and Amon, will be honored at Adelphi's Performing Arts Center during its 2019-2020 season with an evening of performance featuring their works as part of the Larson Legacy Concert Series. The series celebrates the next generation of creative artists at Larson's college home, to carry on his legacy.

On Sunday, March 24, 2019, 2018 Jonathan Larson Grant winners Zoe Sarnak and Emily Kaczmarek will present songs and scenes from their musicals "Afterwords" and "Afloat," as well as never-before-seen works in process, at Adelphi's Performing Arts Center. This past fall, another 2018 Larson grant winner, singer and songwriter Jay Adana performed a concert of pieces from the new musical, "The Loophole," with her original music and lyrics, based on the book by Zeniba Britt.

The Jonathan Larson Grants are given annually to honor emerging composers, lyricists and book writers to help continue Tony Award-winning composer Jonathan Larson's dream of infusing musical theatre with a contemporary, joyful, urban vitality.

Past recipients of the Larson Grants include Benj Pasek and Justin Paul ("Dear Evan Hansen," "The Greatest Showman"), Dave Malloy ("Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812"), Amanda Green ("Hands on a Hardbody"), Tom Kitt and Brian Yorkey ("Next to Normal"), Joe Iconis ("Be More Chill"), Matt Gould ("Witness Uganda"), Michael Korie ("War Paint," "Grey Gardens"), Shaina Taub ("Twelfth Night"), Max Vernon ("KPOP," "The View UpStairs") and Michael R. Jackson ("A Strange Loop").

See more about Larson on Adelphi's web. For more information about this year's Jonathan Larson Grants, see an American Theatre Wing story.

About Adelphi: A modern metropolitan university with a personalized approach to higher learning.

Adelphi University is a highly awarded, nationally ranked, powerfully connected doctoral research university offering exceptional liberal arts and sciences programs and professional training with particular strength in its Core Four-Arts and Humanities, STEM and Social Sciences, the Business and Education Professions, and Health and Wellness. Adelphi is dedicated to transforming students' lives through small classes, hands-on learning and innovative ways to support student success.

Founded in Brooklyn in 1896, Adelphi is Long Island's oldest private coeducational university. Today Adelphi serves more than 8,100 students at its beautiful main campus in Garden City, New York-just 23 miles from New York City's cultural and internship opportunities-and at dynamic learning hubs in Manhattan, the Hudson Valley and Suffolk County, and online.

More than 115,000 Adelphi graduates have gained the skills to thrive professionally as active, caring citizens, making their mark on the University, their communities and the world.

Related Articles View More Long Island Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram