WaterTower Theatre Names Derek Blount as President of the Board of Directors

WaterTower Theatre has announced the election of Derek Blount as President of the Board of Directors, serving for a third term. WaterTower Theatre also announced the election of a slate of Board Officers including Vice President John Ackley, Secretary Buddy Frazer and Treasurer Katie Myatt.

WaterTower Theatre also welcomes the appointment of three new Board members: April Bosworth, Stan Graner and Jimmy Niemann.

Derek Blount is North Dallas Area President of Sovereign Bank. He has served on the WaterTower Theatre Board of Directors for six years and has served as President for the past two years. He is also the Co-Chair of WaterTower Theatre’s Corporate Council.

Members of WaterTower Theatre’s Board of Directors consist of leaders in the fields of business, publishing, education, law, finance, community activism, real estate and the arts who volunteer their time and expertise on behalf of the organization. April Bosworth, Stan Graner and Jimmy Neimann will join current Board members John Ackley, Maureen Anderson, Barbara Bigham, Roz Benjet, Derek Blount, Anita Braun, Ben Cunningham, Barbara Daseke, Elizabeth Fratantuono, Buddy Frazer, Jeanne Hooker, Alan Hunn, RoBert Mayer Jr., Terry Martin, Larry McCallum, Katie Myatt and Karol Omlor.

“We’re extremely pleased to announce that Derek Blount has agreed to serve as President for a third term as well as these three officer appointments plus our three recently appointed board members,” said Terry Martin, WaterTower Theatre’s Producing Artistic Director. “Derek’s second term as President was marked by numerous successes, including continuing to oversee new development and fundraising strategies, including our Endowment Fund and Planned Giving. Many of the new fundraising programs involved Members of The Board of Directors: John Ackley as Chair of the Development Committee; Elizabeth Fratantuono, Strategic Planning; Derek Blount as Co-Chair of The Corporate Council in addition to the annual Spotlight Gala, chaired by Barbara Daseke.”

“This past season, WaterTower Theatre continued to experience growth in ticket sales and fundraising in spite of a sluggish economy,” said Derek Blount. “I’m incredibly proud of the Board of Directors for exercising prudent management over the past year while still displaying a willingness to take on new projects. Of course, the Board is greatly helped and inspired by the consistently terrific work of WaterTower Theatre’s staff. Looking forward, we expect great things from our new slate of Executive Committee Officers and recently appointed Board members as the Board continues its work to support the mission of WaterTower Theatre. I’m pleased to welcome April, Stan and Jimmy to our Board and know they will add unique qualities to an already dynamic group of individuals.”

Related Articles View More Dallas Stories   Shows

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Never Miss a Story
Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram