Cortland Rep Announces Winners of the 2012-13 Pavilion Awards


The winners for the eleventh annual Cortland Repertory Theatre "Pavilion Awards" were announced on Monday, June 10, at the national historic Little York Pavilion, home to CRT. The awards, sponsored by First Niagara Bank, recognize outstanding achievement in local high school theatre during the 2012-13 school year.

Trophies were presented to the winners in a ceremony hosted by Producing Artistic Director Kerby Thompson and Assistant Director Jim Bumgardner. Presenters included members of CRT's first production of the summer season "The Unexpected Guest". Each of the six nominated high schools that produced musicals - Cortland, Dryden, Groton, Homer, McGraw and Tully - performed a musical number from their production.

First Niagara Bank representative Sandy Sampson spoke on behalf of the corporate sponsor, acknowledging the work that the students and teachers accomplished over the year. Following the ceremony, the CRT Board and Guild hosted a reception downstairs in the Pavilion.

The student and production recipients of the awards are as followings:

Best Musical: Working (Cortland)

Best Play: The Mouse That Roared (Cortland)

Visual Musical Ensemble: Oliver! (Dryden)

Vocal Musical Ensemble: Oliver! (Dryden)

Play Ensemble: You Can't Take It With You (Homer)

Lead Actor in a Musical: Joel Twitchell (Groton) - with special recognition to close second place finisher Andrew Niver (McGraw)

Lead Actor in a Play: (Tie) Alex Reynolds (Cortland) and Richie Howell (Homer).

Lead Actress in a Musical: Lucia Helgren (Homer)

Lead Actress in a Play: Lucia Helgren (Homer)

Supporting Actor in a Musical: Jack Gerhard (Cortland) - with special recognition to close second place finisher Noah Paccia (Tully)

Supporting Actor in a Play: David Perfetti (Homer)

Supporting Actress in a Musical: Emma Cleary (Cortland)

Supporting Actress in a Play: Lilly Gustafson (Homer)

Featured Actor in a Musical: Benjamin Ackley (McGraw)

Featured Actor in a Play: Jackson Morris (Homer)

Featured Actress in a Musical: Kailey Reddick (McGraw)

Featured Actress in a Play: Jordon Green (Homer)

Technical Achievement: Theo Moore (Groton)

Theatre-As-Education Awards: You're a Good Man, Charlie Brown (McGraw)

"Rising Star" Award: Gabe Woods (Dryden: Oliver!)

Scholarships: Lucia Helgren (Homer) and Breanna Jones (Cortland).

Student Written One-Act Play: "Secret of the Ocean's Depth" by Iva Markicevic (Cortland)

"Most Valuable Player" Awards (voted by the students themselves, a winner from each production): John Ruquet (Cortland: One-Act Play Festival), Zach Forrester(Cortland: The Mouse That Roared), Emma Cleary(Cortland: Working), Rebecca Hines (Dryden: Oliver!), Joel Twitchell (Groton: The Music Man), Homer: Richie Howell (Homer: You Can't Take It With You), Josh Apker (Homer: Wonderful Town), Benjamin Ackley (McGraw: You're a Good Man, Charlie Brown), Nathaniel Shahan (Tully: My Fair Lady), and Kiki Lee (Tully: Clue).

Related Articles

Central New York THEATER Stories | Shows

From This Author BWW News Desk

Before you go...