Law, Thurman, et al. Join De Niro in Cannes Film Festival Jury


As recently announced, Robert De Niro will act as the president of the 2011 Cannes Film Festival jury. This year's event will take place May 11-22. For additional information, visit:

Robert De Niro began his career in theatre as a student of the Stella Adler Conservatory as well as Lee Strasberg's Actor's Studio. He starred on Broadway in 1986 in Cuba & His Teddy Bear, and received a Theatre World Award for his performance.

The Cannes film Festival, founded in 1946, is one of the world's oldest and most prestigious film festivals. The private festival is held annually (usually in May) at the Palais des Festivals et des Congrès, in the resort town of Cannes, in the south of France. The 63rd edition took place from 12 May to 23 May 2010. The President of the Jury was American film director Tim Burton.

The full 2011 jury is as follows: 

Martina GUSMAN (actress and producer, Argentina)
Nansun SHI (producer, China)
Uma THURMAN (actress, script writer, producer, USA)
Linn ULLMANN (critic and writer, Norway)

Olivier ASSAYAS (director, France)
Jude LAW (actor, UK)
Mahamat Saleh HAROUN (director, Tchad)
Johnnie TO (director, producer, China/Hong-Kong)


Photo Credit: Walter McBride/WM Photos