Eddie Redmayne Among Juror's for BAFTA's New Talent Showcase

Eddie Redmayne Among Juror's for BAFTA's New Talent Showcase

A cross-industry jury of leading figures from the film, television and games industries met at the central London headquarters of the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) yesterday to consider the nominations for BAFTA's inaugural ' Breakthrough Brits '.

After several hours of discussion, the jury - which included actors Eddie Redmayne (LES MISERABLES, My Week with Marilyn) and Felicity Jones (Like Crazy, Cemetery Junction), and BAFTA-winning director Shane Meadows (This is England, Dead Man's Shoes) - agreed on a list of talented newcomers who will be announced as BAFTA's 'Breakthrough Brits' on Wednesday 25 September, and celebrated at a showcase event on Monday 21 October.

The jury was made up of an impressive list of industry experts from across film, television and games, all keen to support emerging British talent. These included several BAFTA winners and nominees such as: producer Hilary Bevan Jones (State of Play, Cracker); costume designer Jacqueline Durran (Anna Karenina, Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy); actor/director Dexter Fletcher (Wild Bill); producer Andy Harries (The Queen, Cold Feet); game developer Miles Jacobson, Studio Director at Sports Interactive (Football Manager, Championship Manager); documentary-maker Kim Longinotto (Pink Saris, True Stories: Divorce Iranian Style); director Philippa Lowthorpe (Call the Midwife) and writer Abi Morgan (The Iron Lady, Sex Traffic).

Also participating in the jury were: game developer Georg Backer (Catcha Catcha Aliens); producer/director James Dean (This is Jinsy, Supersize vs Superskinny); Founder of SBTV Jamal Edwards; actor/writer Daniel Kaluuya (Skins, Kick-Ass 2); David Kosse, President, International, Universal Pictures; casting director Karen Lindsay Stewart (The Woman In Black, Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone); journalist/writer Rageh Omaar (ITV News); Jo Twist, CEO of UKIE; and games and film writer Rob Yescombe (Haze, Crysis 2).

John Willis, Chairman of BAFTA, who chaired the jury after an open call for nominations, said: "It's been wonderful to see the breadth of emerging talent in the UK. We're looking forward to revealing BAFTA's first ever 'Breakthrough Brits', and to supporting them as they advance their careers. The future of our moving image industries is in good hands."

BAFTA Breakthrough Brits, in partnership with Burberry, is a new initiative to celebrate and support the UK's future stars of film, television and games. The talented newcomers selected by the jury will be invited to a day of networking sessions and inspirational talks from leading industry figures at BAFTA's headquarters, 195 Piccadilly, in London on Monday 21 October. The Day will conclude with an evening reception at Burberry's global flagship store, 121 Regent Street, and those selected will go on to receive a year of free access to BAFTA events as well as mentoring and guidance sessions as they move into the next stage of their careers. A special publication featuring the 'Breakthrough Brits' will be distributed to industry and to career-starters across the country.

Full List of Jurors:

John Willis (Jury Chair) -
Chief Executive of Mentorn Media, Group Creative
Director of Tinopolis plc, and Chairman of BAFTA
Georg Backer - game developer
Hilary Bevan Jones - producer
James Dean - producer / director
Jacqueline Durran - costume designer
Jamal Edwards - Founder, SBTV
Dexter Fletcher - actor/ writer/ director
Andy Harries - producer
Miles Jacobson - studio director, Sports Interactive
Felicity Jones - actor

Daniel Kaluuya - actor/writer
David Kosse - president, International, Universal Pictures
Karen Lindsay Stewart - casting director
Kim Longinotto - documentary producer / director
Philippa Lowthorpe - director
Shane Meadows - director / writer
Abi Morgan - writer
Rageh Omaar - journalist / writer
Eddie Redmayne - actor
Jo Twist - CEO, UKIE
Rob Yescombe - games & film writer

pdfDownload this press release (PDF) (133 KB)