yMusic to Release New Andrew Norman Song, 'Music in Circles' 9/30

YMusic releases "Music In Circles" on September 30, composed by Andrew Norman from upcoming album Balance Problems produced by Son Lux, featuring compositions by Timo Andres, Marcos Balter, Mark Dancigers, Nico Muhly, Andrew Norman, Sufjan Stevens, and Jeremy Turner.

New Amsterdam Records is excited to share the Andrew Norman composition "Music In Circles," from acclaimed chamber ensemble yMusic's upcoming album Balance Problems, out September 30, 2014 on New Amsterdam. Pitchfork recently praised the track as "a five-minute static-electricity storm...The strings dance in and out between pure percussive noise and harmonic information in a way that should feel faintly familiar to Sonic Youth fans. At the end, the horsehair of the bows finally makes prolonged contact with the instruments, and the result is a gloriously messy, noisy climax, with muted trumpets and cello singing straight up the center." To give audiences a glimpse of what to expect from Balance Problems, yMusic recently released an album trailer. The brief clip depicts the sextet very intently performing a selection from the record, and its attention to small details magnifies the delicate finesse utilized by the performers.

No Lands Album Release Show w. DJ /rupture and Lorna Dune Baby's All Right TOMORROW (Sunday, August 24) 7:30pm Click here for tickets.

New Amsterdam Records is also excited to celebrate the release of No Lands' debut album, Negative Space, TOMORROW (Sunday, August 24), at Baby's All Right in Brooklyn. No Lands will also perform alongside sets by DJ /rupture and Lorna Dune of Victoire. More information and tickets here.
Released on July 29, Negative Space has already received praise from multiple press outlets, with PopMatters calling it "mysterious and moving music that exists in its own plane...startling stuff," and The Deli Magazine acclaiming it as "a sprawling landscape of buttery synthesized goodness." Read more and stream the whole album for free here.

Lastly, New Amsterdam Records is looking forward to the highly-anticipated release of Battle Trance's Palace of Wind next Tuesday, August 26. The debut release from Travis Laplante's genre-defying tenor saxophone quartet Battle Trance (and NewAm's first co-release with the venerable NNA Tapes), the group recently released the first track from the album via The A.V. Club, which praised it as "a whole spectrum of hypnotic ethereality."

The release of their first track has received additional attention from Live Eye TV, calling it "an engulfing sonic swarm," and AdHoc, which claims it "flows from swirling ambience to bleating epiphany with the ephemeral and unquestionable logic of a dream."
Travis Laplante was also recently interviewed by Search & Restore in anticipation for the album's release. To stream the first track and watch the video trailer for the album, click here.

Related Articles View More Music Stories

More Hot Stories For You

Before you go...

Like Us On Facebook
Follow Us On Twitter
Follow Us On Instagram instagram