Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

WHY NOT Releases Self-Titled Album

The album follows the release of the bands EP ‘VERY WHY NOT’.

WHY NOT Releases Self-Titled Album

WHY NOT have officially released their self-titled album today. It's the most WHY NOT version of WHY NOT. The 10-tracks, which include the previously released singles "IN LOVE WITH THE SOUND", "TAKE A MINUTE" and "YOU'RE MY KIND" was produced by Caleb Hinz (Hippo Campus, Samia, Miloe).

'WHY NOT' - composed of Henry Breen, Isaac Dell, and Joshua MacGregor - is the Minneapolis trio's self-titled mission statement. Fueled by the tension and uncertainty of the time and the changes in the band's personal lives-from graduating high school and moving out of their childhood homes to growing into and out of long term relationships-and colored by the joy of creating with each other and feeling inspiration in dark times.

WHY NOT pivoted from their math rock and punk-informed roots, incorporating a wider variety of musical influences. The result is a virtuosic, genre-fluid statement from a young band just beginning to harness the heights of their craft.

The album follows the release of the bands EP 'VERY WHY NOT'. The five track EP is a manic, genre-fluid collection of songs; a pure sonic bombast, driven by spontaneity and teeming with the twin joys of creation and friendship can be streamed on all platforms.

It included the singles "CASKET ft. papa mbye" and "WE CAN BE ALWAYS ft. Lupin". Lupin is Jake Luppen of the band Hippo Campus. "CASKET" grabbed mentions and adds with best of playlists and round ups at places like Consequence of Sound, Ones To Watch, UPROXX and was also recently featured as song of the day with The Current.

Listen to the new album here:

Related Articles View More Music Stories

From This Author - Michael Major