Merle Haggard's 45th Anniversary 'OKIE FROM MUSKOGEE' to Be Released, 3/25

Merle Haggard's 45th Anniversary 'OKIE FROM MUSKOGEE' to Be Released, 3/25

Originally released in December 1969, the live album OKIE FROM MUSKOGEE was released shortly after the single "Okie From Muskogee" reached No. 1 on the Billboard Country Singles Chart. The song served to refute the counter-culture of the late 1960s while extolling the virtues of a small-town, conservative lifestyle and immediately became a signature tune for Haggard. The album, recorded live in Muskogee, Oklahoma, won the Academy of Country Music award for Album of the Year in 1969, Top Male Vocalist, and Single of the Year for "Okie from Muskogee."

The OKIE FROM MUSKOGEE ANNIVERSARY EDITION also includes the long out of print 1970 live recording, THE FIGHTIN' SIDE OF ME. Originally released in 1970, it was yet another record in his catalog to reach number one on the charts. The album has been long out of print and a sought after gem for collectors. This is the first time audiences will be able to own a remastered CD/digital version of THE FIGHTIN' SIDE OF ME in 40 years. Remastered from the original analog tapes, the 2-CD OKIE FROM MUSKOGEE ANNIVERSARY EDITION is a unique Merle Haggard live experience that will remind fans new and old why Haggard is not only a Country Music legend but one of the great live performers of our generation.


Disc 1

Okie From Muskogee

Recorded Live In Muskogee, Oklahoma 1969

1. Introduction by Carlton Haney
2. Mama Tried
3. No Hard Times
4. Silver Wings
5. Merle Receives Key To Muskogee

6. Merle's Introduction to Medley

7. Swinging Doors
8. I'm A Lonesome Fugitive
9. Sing Me Back Home
10. Branded Man
11. In The Arms Of Love
12. Workin' Man Blues
13. Merle's Introduction To "Hobo Bill"
14. Hobo Bill's Last Ride
15. Billy Overcame His Size
16. If I Had Left It Up To You
17. White Line Fever
18. Blue Rock
19. Introduction To "Okie From Muskogee"
20. Okie From Muskogee

Disc 2

The Fightin' Side Of Me

Recorded Live in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 1970

1. Opening Theme: Hammin' It Up
2. I Take A Lot Of Pride In What I Am
3. Corrine Corrina
4. Every Fool Has A Rainbow
5. T.B. Blues
6. When Did Right Become So Wrong
7. Philadelphia Lawyer
8. Stealin' Corn
9. Harold's Super Service
10. Devil Woman
11. I'm Movin' On
12. Folsom Prison Blues
13. Jackson
14. Orange Blossom Special
15. Love's Gonna Live Here
16. Today I Started Loving You Again
17. Okie From Muskogee
18. The Fightin' Side Of Me

SOURCE: BUSINESS WIRE ©2015 Business Wire